Fair warning, a story in 50 words.

in #fiftywords6 years ago

20180411_192613 (2).jpg

The locals warned them not to build a bypass through the field. 'Ne'er disturb a fairy dell or 'tis certain that you'll end in hell.'
Despite a host of hair-raising happenings, they worked on. Until one of them spontaneously combusted. And the rest? They just disappeared as if by magic.

=============================================================================
The image is my own

Posted in response to the 50 word story challenge hosted by @Jayna which you can see
here

The prompt is Field. Word count 50

Sort:  

hahahah very good.

Delighted you approve m'dear.

I like it! I'm imagining a host of evil leprechauns here.

Well your imagination is spot on! It's the Leinster leprechaun we have here in Dublin and of all the 5 leprechaun clans, these wee fellas are probably the most dangerous.

Cheers for the visit!

Oops, I read this story several days ago, but somehow didn't comment or upvote at the time! Nice work, @deirdyweirdy. And you sure launched some interesting discussion!

Don't worry. I won't hold that against you!
Yes indeed the comments are gas. They're my very favourite part of posting. There are some hilarious people out there and I have such fun with them.

Don't know if such still exist in this 21st century, spirit still interfering with science

Don't mess with these fairies! This is worse than building over an indian cemetery! Such a great content for only 50 words 👍

Ha ha ha, you are right! Spontaneus combustion, way worst!

although we could make a story of a native Indians cemetery where people disappear for spontaneous combustion mmmh...

Don't you dare!!!!

The hamsters within my head are already spinning on their wheels :-P

Hahaha, well I'm known in many circles as weirdy the hamster killer, so they better watch their backs!

Weirdy the hamsters' killer 😂 This is a fearsome and epic battle name. I changed idea and subject to write about!

Go to it good sir and I shall await with bated breath the result of your scribblings.

Thanks for that. All fine compliments received with much appreciation.

That's what happens when you live in a land full of magic. I'll watch my step if I ever make it to Ireland.

Between fairies, leprechauns and banshees, 'tis hard to walk two steps without falling over one of the little buggers.

Rocky Mountain hazardous materials dump near denver colorado?

Yeah, got it in one! Did ya reverse image search the photo?

nope..I was stationed at Lowry AFB near there.
that's one reason I act the way I do.

Curmudgeonly you mean?
I know little of Yankie geography but the photo is a piece of wasteland close to my house.

Denver?
Yankee?
Who'd a thunk!

Ah sure you're all Yanks to me.

how far south are you?

South of Belfast and north of Waterford, or is that a trick question?

Cur mudge only
yup..she thought so.
I had a little 'curr' onct..name of mudge..she was the ONLY dog I had at the time.
an eight pound boston terrier...cute thing.
I've since moved on.
to cats..

I'm distantly familiar with your 2 boys. Not much of a cat person myself, I leave that to curmudgeonly old codgers like yourself.

Cool premise... I enjoyed your story!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Your own isn't too shabby either;)
I am an ardent admirer of the art of alliteration as well as a firm fan of the fifty word format.
Cheers for the support.

Thanks for the smiles today. Nice to "meet" you, @deirdyweirdy... :D

Likewise m'dear.

I really enjoy fairy stories, and loved this one! I like their severe and ruthless side alltogether with thei beauty and magic. Great story!

It was a fun story to write. Cheers and thanks for the comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58115.81
ETH 2623.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42