Be careful what you wish for; a story in 50 words

in #fiftywords6 years ago

IMG_20180424_031312002 (2).jpg



The crowd surged forward, each desperate to catch the magic lamp as it flew through the air dislodging the genie, sending him hurtling into the outstretched arms of a hapless housewife. 'Give me space' she cried at the frenzied mob, whereupon she found herself alone, floating in the nebulous nothingness.

==========================================================================
Posted in response to @jayna's 50 word challenge which you can see
here

Image is my own

Sort:  

Hah, made me chuckle! Never trust a genie - in all the original stories they were little better than magically endowed imps. I think Disney's Aladdin would have been a much different tale if the genie had acted as nefariously as them...

Chuckle is good, I can work with that. Next time I'll be aiming for at least guffaw;)
Cheers for the support.

You'll be on your way to a full blown chortle in no time haha. Keep it up :)

Ah, nothingness, I know it well...

Hahaha, we're probably neighbours!

Lol. Ingenious. And not just cos it has a genie in it.

Hahaha, very good. Without the geni(e) neither would make much sense at all.

Oh no!! I'm glad she didn't slip and say shit... :o)

Hahaha, very funny. I'll use that in the adult version I'm writing next week.

It would have been much easier if she just rubbed the lamp, but not as funny. LOL! : )

But it's so damned difficult to calculate the trajectory of a moving genie falling from an airborne lamp.
Had she caught the lamp and not the genie, this might have been an entirely different story;)

HaHa! So true and you are so damned funny! Thanks for the laugh. : )

Just re-read this, as I'm preparing to write the summary prompt about last week's stories, and laughed out loud again. But I also noticed on this visit to the story, that this is your image. Wow. Mind blown. Can you tell me how you created it?

I wish I could say I created it with a true blue acrylic and a number 7 pinhead brush on buckwheat canvas, but the sorry truth is that I am a frustrated artist born in the wrong body. The spirit is willing but the flesh is weak and the mind creates wonders which the body simply cannot execute.
The image is a closeup photo of a small portion of this painting 20180430_131336 (2).jpg
I love taking photos so, where possible, the images I use in my posts are my own.

Lol, this is so funny. Ah, space, but not too much space. Geeeeenius :P

SIGNATURE.png

Yes indeed, you can get too much of even a good thing, except maybe.......em....uhm....ah,....... you can get too much of even a good thing!

Ah!

OMG!!

That caught me off guard

Awesome!!

I'm resteeming this

Lots of blessings

Oops! Oh my, that made me laugh. Very clever!

If one more person calls me clever, I'm gonna start believin' it;)

clever!

Clever!!

Clever!!!

Hahahahaha, well that's just dandy. Now I'm gonna have to buy a bigger hat!

I just love your little stories...the previous one was also amazing!

Thanks for that.
I've tried to graduate to longer ones but 50 words seem to be the extent of my capability;)

I doubt that... and anyway very short stories are even harder...

You say the sweetest things;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67