Spare Some Change [50 Word Story]

in #fiftywords6 years ago

The woman threw change at the beggar’s feet.

“Get your shit together,” she barked and hurried down the sidewalk.

The homeless man scraped the change off dirty pavement with calloused and cracked fingers. He jingled the coins in his fist and smiled.

“I think it’s you who needs the change.”


It's been a while since I posted a fifty word story but couldn't help resist this weeks prompt of change. Go check out @jayna's Fifty word story prompt contest for some other great entries.

Pixabay Image Source

Sort:  

Resteemed and liked it, punks like that lass needs change and has the means to, but the lad has his change and changed when forced to. But so much better off he in all areas and faculties, except financial, like Diogenes of Sinope.

I've seen some of this first hand and a LOT can be conveyed in not a ton of words. It is the depth of the message conveyed imho
well done

Thank you for the kind words on this small piece @battleaxe

Oh my, I have to agree with him!

This is really great, @cizzo. Very intense. I was aiming for something powerful with my "change" story this week, and I just couldn't quite get the mood I was aiming for. Darn 50-word challenge. It's hard!

Glad you enjoyed it @jayna :)

Yes 50 words can be quite the challenge (I haven't even done the last few) but with this prompt the image in the story came to me suddenly and I find those kind of stories work best for me. An immediate emotional response kind of thing. Doesn't always happen, but it is nice when it does.

Yes! It really is great when that happens. Writing is such an adventure!

Nicely done. Great story and excellent message, Cizzo! The lack of consideration is a social issue shared across borders.

I'm glad you enjoyed it @anikekirsten
A small snippet of a large and complex issue but I like how it came out :)

Good one! This reminded me of a documentary I saw on the BBC not long ago, about homeless people. The journalist was following this young man who had been homeless for 8 months. He didn't beg, he just went from here to there caring his few belongings around. Then, I group of 4 well-dressed adult men, bullies really, came to him and started abusing him about his situation! On camera! Oh my ... some people are really deprived of empathy!

That scenario perfectly outlines what I'm trying to get across with this story @abigail-dantes.
Homelessness is obviously not to be glorified and can be tragic but the juxtaposition of people who have "made it" materially in western society and yet can be morally bankrupt and devoid of empathy towards the disadvantaged is sad.

Just wanted to put a little message across to mull over :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cizzo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61129.70
ETH 2660.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55