Run Like Hell [50 Word Story]

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

Roger ran. He ran like hell. Rain beat against his shaved scalp offering some temporary relief.

The cybernetic implant had gone sour.

Roger slunk down to his knees. Rouge circuitry wreaked havoc on his motor functions. He collapsed onto the cold wet pavement.

Here lies Roger—brain implant beta tester.


A spot of sci-fi fun for this weeks 50-word story challenge.

As you can probably tell from the title and image I had a bit of inspiration from a little known band:

If you enjoyed this story you might enjoy this lengthier sci-fi piece I wrote a few days ago:

June and the Fat Man

Sort:  

Oh no! Poor Roger. (Note to self: Don't ever sign up to be a beta tester for a brain implant!)

Apologies for the delay in responding. I had a mishap with my @jayna account and am attempting to recover it. For now I will be posting as @jaynas-minime. I wrote a post about it, and you can read it here. I hope to be back soon with my restored account!

Hopefully the account recovery process goes smoothly!
And I see a new post and prompt posted up :)

Love me some dark humour, and you delivered it well. This will be a PR disaster for the company developing the brain implants, so some karma for Roger at least. Nicely done, Cizzo!

Thank you @anikekirsten. Unless they cover it up... queue dramatic music

Wow, a very cool sci-fi response to the prompt! Nice!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you @creatr :)

I love how you tied it in with the music, very fun

Thank you @blueteddy. The song and idea of the story came to me pretty quickly when I saw the prompt :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.036
BTC 66992.58
ETH 3460.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.68