Shade

in #fiftywords6 years ago

agriculture-back-light-bokeh-278927.jpg

This is my entry for the 50 words contest hosted by @jayna. If you would like to join in the fun, you can find it here:
https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@jayna/new50-wordstorypromptplusanannouncement-ion0gi3p6d

This weeks prompt was "Shade."


I never noticed how oppressive the Oklahoma sun could be as a little girl.
I frolicked through magical fields with elves and fairies, so what did the heat matter to me?
While adults took shelter in the AC, sipping their entirely too sweet tea,
I was shaded by my imagination.


What can I say, I was feeling nostalgic tonight. I really should learn to write, or at least post things, during the day when more people are awake to read them. I read somewhere that there are "optimal posting hours." I just can't seem to keep myself from hitting that post button as soon as I finish something, and it's sooooo much easier to write when the rest of the house is asleep. But oh well, it's 5 o'clock somewhere right? :p

Thank you for reading <3

The image I used is from Pixabay.com and it's free for personal and commercial use. You can find it here:
https://www.pexels.com/photo/agriculture-back-light-bokeh-cloud-278927/

Sort:  

Excellent finish.... Loved this line "I was shaded by my imagination.

"

Thank you for reading! I’m glad you liked it :D

Nostalgia is a contagious thing. The story does its work. I also liked the last line. Imagination is such a wonderful thing. It has protected most from the scorching heat of reality. Pity our world forces most to leave that shade behind.

Agreed, some days it’s easy and natural but other days I find myself having to put up a fight to hold onto my inner child. Thank you for reading and taking the time to comment :D

I love it!

I was shaded by my imagination.

This is lovely, and it really resonates with me. As children, we are so resilient and so excited by games and running around. We just deal with heat and humidity because who cares! We're having so much fun playing and imagining. Too bad we have to grow up.

Thank you, I’m glad you liked it! Sorry for the late response I was away from steemit for a few days

This rings so true. Can't stand the summers here but I don't remember having this intolerance when I was a kid. It was like imagination shaded, no matter the temperature. And also like it warmed during winter. Lovely, BlueTeddy!

Thank you, and yeah the same was definitely true for winter! My mom had a hard time convincing me I had to come in every now and then to warm up when it snowed.

"oh well, it's 5 o'clock somewhere right"

It's the next morning here in England lol.

I love your central metaphor. It's much more powerful than the shade of a parasol, that shelters you for a few hours. The tent of a spirited imagination is for life. :)

Thank you :D I'm glad you enjoyed it, it's always nice to see your comments. Bit of an aside, I didn't actually know the word for parasols when I was younger. I referred to them as fancy umbrellas lol.

Lol When I was younger, I thought they were called always-leaves-one-person-in-the-sun-so-sit-down-quick-and-act-innocent umbrellas!

hey @blueteddy

Thanks for your upvote/appreciation.
Your guidance will be beneficial to us.

pls follow @important-to-us

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02