Near

in #fiftywords6 years ago

eye-eyebrow-eyelash-18809.jpg

It loops back around
An emotional paralysis
My chest constricts
My very being quakes
A tight burning sensation
A frustration and desire
To do better, to be better
Choking on fear and doubt
It stings my eyes
Marks my cheek
Bound in a single tear
Expelled but still lingering near

This is my entry for the 50 words challenge which can be found here:
https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@jayna/fiftywordchallenge-roundupandnewstoryprompt-qrmqqlsuo0

Photo is by burak kostak from Pexels. It is free for personal and commercial use and can be found here:
https://www.pexels.com/photo/eye-face-eyebrow-eyelid-18809/

Sort:  

Beautifully done. You’ve really captured a lot of emotion in this piece, @blueteddy.

Thank you very much, @jayna! Thank you for all the support and for putting this challenge together. The community you’ve helped to grow around this is lovely and has been one of the high points of steemit for me since joining :)

That’s so wonderful to hear! Thanks, @blueteddy.

Expelled but still lingering near

Great concluding line with some contrast. Enjoyed the poem @blueteddy

Thanks @cizzo! I tend to shy away from poetry so this was a fun change of pace to write.

I love the use of poetry with the tear prompt. At first, I thought that you were describing a heart attack because the physical response was so intense. Wow!

Thank you! Writing poetry kind of intimidates me but I just felt it was the appropriate medium for what I wanted to say this week.

Thank you very much!

Very good. I love the phrase , “Bound in a single tear”

Thank you, I’m glad you liked it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74