Flight or Fight?

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

Rob froze. A bright green snake slithered through the grass, hissing. It curled up in the shade. Snakes were poisonous out here.

Home beckoned.

No. Mara could be facing goblins, and he was frightened about a snake? Even he couldn’t be that cowardly.

Edging around it, he went on.

This is my entry to the 50 Word Challenge, hosted by @jayna.

Source
Sort:  

Nice! I l'm glad he chooses to go on. I like this one a lot.

Thank you! Couldn't let him wimp out of this.

Very powerful writing. Quite a compact little adventure. Great work!

Thank you!

Sounds like when you're only level 1 in a new video game and not sure if you should even be tangling with snakes. Nice work!

If there's one thing Nokia taught me, it's that tangling with a snake will only result in one winner.

Thank you!

That image. I won't sleep now.

Love how you've put such a complete story in so few words. Wonderfully done!

Thank you!

Very nice, @alheath! I love the drama of this piece, and the moment of critical decision. I truly hope this is a part of a larger story, as I'm now dying to read about Mara and the goblins!

Thank you! I'm actually about to start planning the full story with the pieces I've already written. Never written fantasy of this kind before so it should be interesting.

Stay tuned...

beautiful :)

PS: I miss your #comedyopenmic entries.

Thank you! I'll have to think of something.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59193.30
ETH 2532.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47