Of Pontus

in #ficton7 years ago (edited)

pontus final.png

---

1

---


A couple years ago I developed a serious case of insomnia. I've always been a night owl but this was something different, it wasn't that it took a long time to fall asleep, or I didn't get enough, but that I simply couldn't. It was like whatever physiological process that enables sleep was a wire that was cut. The wire was cut, that was it. It would be better if the wire wasn't cut, but it is. My thought process became cyclical around day 3 without sleep. By without sleep I mean none. Zero hours. No naps, no brief 15 minutes here or there, absolutely none (or so it felt, apparently there's 'microsleeps' where you fall asleep momentarily without realizing you missed any time or there was a lapse in consciousness, which can occur even in the middle of conversation or driving). I felt numb. I called in sick. I was a paramedic at the time. Dangerous. Two nights too dangerous. Never been this bad. I forgot to eat. I couldn't answer the phone. Sometimes opening the laptop filled me with terror. The world was out there, and if I acknowledge the world must I also acknowledge-
also aknowledge--

###%^#also aknldge

#)&%@_@%*&_so akngledge

AALSO aaaakakkknowledhe

I need water. It takes me an hour to do this. Day 4? 6? No can't be 6. It takes me an hour to decide to get some water and get the water. I wasn't distracted or absorbed in something. The whole time I was thinking about how dry my mouth was, how much I wanted water. Nothing was stopping me. In total, the plan, inception to completion, took probrobly around 1:01h or 1:02h even. 60 of those possible 62 minutes were spent thinking about getting glass of water; 01 or 02 getting it. I don't know why.

I need help I think. My dads a doctor but I go to a walk-in. I had drug issues in my late teens and early twenties. I don't want him to think I'm trying to get drugs again. This is important.

I go the walk-in. The doctor seems nice. He asks what's wrong. I say insomnia. He gets irritated quickly and I feel guilty. He says he's not giving me benzodiazepenes. He thinks I'm trying to get drugs. I didn't mention them. I tell him that's fine, can I have something else. He's still mad and doesn't believe me? I knew a walk-in wouldn't give me those, but why does being a young male with psychological problems seem to automatically make you a drug seeker? And why is that a bad thing all the time? If you know what drugs help you, why can't I tell you? Why can't you give me the drugs that help me if I know they help me? And you may have if I didn't? Why do people feel the need to trip over a pill's name, foot catching convoluted contours in contrived contractions of the tongue over the teeth, "I think it was called-". That doesn't really make sense... does it? No. I don't think so. I'll think about it later.

I don't do that. Benzodiazepenes are the drugs I had the aforementioned issues with. I would love some. But I shouldn't. They would only help right now. And obviously this guy has dealt with people like me who are stupid enough to say what helps them. Never say that. Fools. Never remember names. Preface with "I think". Be unsure. Only way to get help. But it's good he didn't. I won't lie, I wish he did. But maybe new pills will help.

The doctor gives me the pills I don't remember the name of (because they didn't help) after I mention Zoloft hasn't worked for me in the past. I thank him and leave. Choosing between exhausted and angry I choose exhausted and go home where I don't sleep again. Brain wont stop now. Keeps reading, then rereading in head. Plutarch. I never went to university. Well, for a year, attended class for a semester. So a year sorta. Why is Caeser looked upon so poorly in this time period? Do you not still have an Emperor? Why the senate hailed as noble and emperor spit upon when he sits to your right at supper? Brutus? Best of men? Brutus made his living buying rights to land and taxing the residents so outlandishly they began to starve then left so he could have it. Caesar was everything but a saint but had a peculiar love of the people, of his fame, of the political gain. Which is not to be known, and I don't think they must be exclusive. So strange. I don't know the timeline yet. So much to read. Was Rome in trouble? Yearning for 'good old days'? Hm. And how can anyone not think Cato the most insufferable of cunts? He was such an asshole. The worst. Fuck off Cato.

Cunt.

What a dick.

Who is Mithradates? Pompey's triumph? New tab.

Oh my god fuck Cato man for real.


---

medium | twitter

---


image source

edit: seriously though did like Marcus Aurelius have any way to know what Cato was about (being an insufferable ass)? Well if we do I assume he did. I noticed stoicism has had somewhat of a come back, can anybody familiar with it maybe tell me why Cato isn't a ridiculous hypocrite, still spoken of with reverance? Marcus I get it, but Cato cmon son

Sort:  

Thank you Eevee (you abolutely are an Eevee btw)

(^_^) ...

... update, i made that comment before reading your story, and im glad i did it this way, cause after reading it I dont have anything clever or construction to to add, other than i had no idea it was possible to go without sleep for that long... i think i had the opposite if that... i once slept for 36 hours...

E: opps

I did like :) i always enjoy your writing! sometimes in my attempt to sound witty even though i'm totally ignorant, i may sound as disproving, but in this case i just wanted to let you know that i did read your story... but unfortunately my knowledge of Marcus Aurelius is as poor as my knowledge of prescription drugs... so i cant come up with anything substantial to say... lol don't know if i ever do :P

Course you do and of course you're allowed to dislike my story. I'm not a fan either until the tonal swtch (which be released today or never. who knows haha)

In fact I prefer constructive criticism (yknow as long youre not a huge dick about it). Actually fuck it, if anybody can find an ending to this chapter that isn't shit 1SBD prize!

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 43.97% Upvote

Oh my Beloved!! What an exciting "russian mountain" of feelings and thoughts!! This is Beautiful and blessed by the Gods!! The way you construct the bridge between insomnia and ancient politics has the Dignity of Homero's songs!!
You make me think this: Justice not always live Here. You are Great my Brother!!
Evoé!!!

Outside your festivals, when the women cover their breasts and the temple's collective group of temples begin to pound out yesterdays drink, back to the world of mortals, justice cannot be found only forged. I intend to do so. You're invited of course.

Justice cannot be found only forged.

Only You can do it!!! I'm proudly accompanying you in this Work!!!
Evoé!!!

Can you bring that spinach dip you made last time?

Your wishes, my command!!
Evoé!!!

You have some great writing skills. i can imagine all the story like a movies is playing although i was reading it.
It was a worth read.you made me feel the whole story like i was suffering from it.
It was a great share @mitthradiumn

Thanks a lot, much more boring than my regular stuff but wanted to get accross the circular monotony/apathy of severe sleep deprival. The second part wont be so drab

i will definitely wait for it

You deserve it, you made as great thinking @mitthradiumn

Ty, feels like I've barely posted anything for some reason tho

You are really awesome bro.Nice post,I am following you.

Thanks you, appreciate it. I'll be sure to check out your page tonight.

You are the strengthener passionate minded, for that you can achieve this @mitthradiumn

Thank you. I got both those things I agree, unfortunate they tend to fuck each other up last minute

Yes. StrengethnernPassionate Minded, i agree

This fiction is excitable and glory.Even night sleeping history is mysteries.So this event remembered your ever life.I blessing to you long life.

...if you say so my man haha

blessings to you too!

Thanky very much.

My friend, Sleep is very important.

You must rest the soul, as it cannot work forever.

I have posted a story about Sacrifice. It is good to sacrifice yourself for love, but you must choose the right times my friend.

I wish you best of health in the future

O course you're right, and I have improved my habits since 2 years ago when this took place, but why do you think all my best work is done when sleep deprived?

Sincere question, I have no idea. @Bromius help me out?

I think because in that way you get into the wonders of Morpheus' Land but with your consciousness awake and with no resistance!! So the Muses dance with you in unimagined ways!!
But listen to your Friend, you must take care of your Health!!!
Evoé!!

In Thai boxing. We say Strong Heart = Strong Mind.

You must have very strong heart my friend, as your mind is good

...thank you. hearing the right thing at the right time best medicine this disease has given me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33