Short story | Dope-ill-gang-her

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)



📷

Vero89 first appeared in my life on a hazy, blurry afternoon. July had hit me pretty hard with the fact that the year would soon be over and I was not transiting the so-long expected path. There was going on a critical disjunctive between the required and the desired, and the clock ticking was not very comforting either. At the light of the upcoming events I am about to relate, anyone could understand why I ended where I am.

Back on those days, I was spending most of the time sitting in front of a laptop, engaged in an endless scrolling, searching for answers I did not know I needed. I did not mind about the back pain or the forever-lost hours of sleep.

That is when I came across her blog. Vero89. For what I saw, she seemed a brilliant writer, a hidden gem. All that potential, translucent from a series of reviews I greedily read. I ended up mesmerized, and when I gathered enough courage to reach her through a comment, I felt as scared as relieved.

"Hey, I just discovered your blog! Your content is awesome; it would be lovely to talk about this with a couple of beverages in between. Is it weird that I already feel like missed you when you were away?".

She hadn't posted in a while, so I tried not to keep high hopes about her returning. Her reply could not have been more humble and comradely. Even though I was a complete stranger, Vero89 treated me like an old acquaintance.

"Hi! I'm glad you enjoyed it. It's nice to have some feedback, so I will continue to write similar things. I hope we get to cyber-know each other. We will share those drinks one day!"."

So was the beginning of a friendship that warmed my late nights and gave us both spaces to freely speak about the weighs of our daily routine. Human nature is by definition a full of suffering pursuit of satisfying social interactions, so we fitted perfectly on each other's needs.

Vero89 and I chatted for months, a bit now and then, without expectations or complains. We kept our bond safe from harmful illusions, by tacitly avoiding any real-life information. Even what we looked like could not be less relevant. I knew her deep troubles and desires; she understood mine. That is all it took for the love to unfold.

Finally, we were ready to meet. After the details were discussed and arranged, I could barely stand still without my knees trembling. I was calmed, though, when the day came. I chose to wear a pretty dress and bought some chocolates to share with her. Waiting for her on that skate park, surrounded by the dancing lights of the starting sunset, felt like the most natural thing to do.

While staring at a butterfly, I sensed her footsteps coming towards me. Slowly enough to savor every second of the first glance, I turned my head. Her eyes met mine. She looked exactly like me.


Letter found on a patient's archive.

Soteria - Therapeutic Community Residence for individuals that have experienced a distressing extreme state, commonly referred to as psychosis.


Characters and plot are entirely fictional.

"To err is human; to edit, divine." - Someone

I’ll give 1 STEEM to whoever guesses first the right title of this story.

Sort:  

Wow love the open ending! Does it imply that the woman is crazy? Is she meeting her doppelganger? Or is it just her imagination? Lots of question, love how you leave the readers hanging on this one hehe

I too have a lot of theories about the ending, and I like to imagine that not even the writers consciously know the full plot of their creations or have absolute control over them.

Since I've heard these crazy stories about how people react when meeting their doppelgängers, I wanted to give it a sci-fi touch. Also, for those that like to go beyond and explore the nooks and turns of the human mind, there's also a possibility that the author of the letter was suffering from schizophrenia and imagined it all. Or maybe Vero89 is another personality of the patient. DID can be a fascinating subject too. Either way, she ended on Soteria, a mental facility.

I'm glad you liked the story <3

You're all wrong, IT WAS ME...

DIO!

Wow! Estuvo brutal! Nunca imaginé un giro así. Sin embargo, no solo el final es genial, sino toda la trama aparentemente tranquila, me dejaste pegada desde el principio. Quería saber quién escribía y qué había pasado D:

¡Gracias! Me alegra que disfrutaras la historia :D

Hi zoexantelamv,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Wow! That was not what i was expecting but then a good writer surprises the reader in unimaginable ways. Such a wierd ending but i love it. Great story @zoexantelamv.

Thank you! I'm glad you liked it :D

A well done short story with a chilling ending. It was slow in the beginning but the ending ties it up very nicely.
                           
And stories about doppelganger and mirror images always creep me out ^^.

Thank you! I'll keep practicing my writing so I can come up with more chilling, creepy stories :D

The beginning of the story seemed like a love story between man and woman but all the way down, it sounds like a lady who is proud of and adores another lady and is interested in friendship. Nice story.

Thank you! If Vero89 is indeed a bone-and-flesh person, both were very lucky to find each other. Or weren't they?

@zoexantelamv, at first when i read, i thought it was a "he" but you have surprise me when you mentioned pretty dress. Second, i thought it must be some kind of fiction with cyber criminal story. And you surprised me again.

While staring at a butterfly, I sensed her footsteps coming towards me. Slowly enough to savor every second of the first glance, I turned my head. Her eyes met mine. She looked exactly like me.

I really caught in surprise how you end this. Someone look exactly same. And you now caught my interest, what would be the story if you continue to write it, did she a crone, a twin or she has mental issue.. Now my imagination flow every where unless you continue.

You really knew how to attract reader attention although it only a short story. You deserved this curie vote and congratulation.

Thank you! I'm really glad that the story had the desired effect.

I tried very hard to blurry the limits between Vero89 and her along the text so that there was more that one possibility. I like to imagine that not even the writers consciously know the full plot of their creations or have absolute control over them. If I decanted for continuing the story, it would probably turn out that Vero89 was indeed just part of an ill, broken mind.

Thanks again for your kind words!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Zoe Anavid from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62943.85
ETH 2464.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55