Abraham and the Apocalypse… Eating the essence of life

in #fiction7 years ago

 Abraham and the Apocalypse… Pt 4 Eating the essence of life! WARNING: Graphic Content 

Somethings not right. I only want to rub the sleep from my eyes but am unable to convince my arm that I need the hand and fingers it carries to perform this task. My arm seems to not know I am awake. I try to will my arm to move but the end result is nothing more than a concentrated thought. “Use your other arm” I tell myself, “it’s lying under your right side.” I try and roll over using my legs so I may free my other arm but cannot. My legs seem to be experiencing the same affliction as my arm. It’s as if each part of me carries an invisible weight and I haven’t the strength to move any part of me. But it can’t be the weight of my arms, or my legs, or the weight of my body. I feel no weight; I feel nothing at all. 

Whatever has effected the rest of my body seems to have no effect on my eyes. With just a little effort I work my eyelids through the dried sleep that holds them closed. While still unable to move the rest of my body I am finally able to take in what my limited field of vision allows me to see. Laying on my side with my face on the ground, directly in front of me and only a few feet away I can see Abe. Also lying immobile he seems to be suffering from the same paralyses I have. I can also see the horror in his eyes as he stares back at me. He’s close enough I could touch him, if only I could move my arm. 

This can’t be happening I tell myself looking where only my eyes will let me. There are four, no five as I spot another slip in and back out of my peripheral vision, maybe more that I cannot see unable to move my head. These have to be the same creatures that had been following us since yesterday. If so then the others must be here also, close by or somewhere in the woods surrounding us, maybe behind me. If only I could turn my head.  

There’re wearing some kind of uniform or suit that covers their entire body like a synthetic skin except for the eyes, and what appears to be a mouth. The suits are a dusty grey, each having some sort of bright red insignia over the right corner of the chest. The eyes are perfectly round, no eye lashes, with a small black disk that seems to float in the center on a thick, dark yellow liquid. The mouth is perfectly round like the eyes and not much larger but completely black inside with no visible teeth or tongue. The edge of the mouth is swollen and pale like a single lip. A yellow, green mucus clings to the lips edge with an occasional drip from the lowest point. They are shorter then they appeared when chasing us across the desert, maybe 4 feet tall. They do not stand upright but more hunched over, except for the one on his knees behind Abe. “What are you doing ?“ I wonder as it places what looks more like claw than hand on top of Abe’s head.  

In its other claw is a clear, flexible tube about 3 feet long and half an inch in diameter. I can see the horror still showing in Abe’s eyes as I watch the creature in my own horror bring the end of the hose down behind Abe’s head near the base of his skull. “No God please, please no” I scream to myself. With all of my strength I try once again to move, nothing. I can see the creature add pressure to Abe’s head holding it in place on the ground as the other hand forces the end of the tube into the base of Abe’s skull. 

Abe is still looking at me, with eyes pleading for help as this creature places the other end of the tube into its own sucker like mouth. I can see the panic in Abe’s eyes, scared out of his mind. He knows something is going on behind him, something bad is being done to him, he can see it in my face, but like myself I know he feels nothing. In total shock and disbelief, I watch as the creature forces a thick bubbly fluid, a yellow mixed with green swirls, from its own mouth into the tube. Helpless, I watch the bubbles in this mucus like substance run down the tube towards the back of Abe’s head. After a few minutes the bubble rich mixture begins its course back up the tube and into the creatures’ sucking mouth. As I watch the substance flow from the back of Abe’s head back up through the tube the color begins to change to a clearer liquid with a yellowish tint. I no longer see the panic in Abe’s eyes as he continues to stair in my direction. There is no fear, only absence, as if all the ingredients that made Abe the person he was, his spirit, his soul, his essence has been sucked away. I can see he’s still breathing but his eyes are vacant, empty of life. 

I begin to close my eyes to this morbid process as it continues in front of me when another one of the creatures standing behind Abe reaches down to grab something. I cannot see what it is the creature is reaching for with Abe lying between us but as the creature begins to stand back up I do see. From its claw another length of that same clear tubing swings back and forth as this creature steps over Abe’s body towards me. “I hope this will not hurt” I say to myself, “I hope you choke on me." 

I can feel it behind me. Whatever they used to paralyze us must be wearing off. I can feel it’s claw on my shoulder and am waiting for the pain I know I will now feel. Any moment and that tube will be forced into the back of my head. I close my eyes tight, waiting, knowing it’s going to hurt when I hear a familiar voice far off and distant. “Wake up Scotty. We’ve got to leave now." Still afraid and now shaking, not wanting to see more I force my eyes open once again to find Abe kneeling before me, alert, anxious, and wearing his grin. Behind Abe is Jedidiah gathering up camp. “Are you OK Scotty? I think you were having a bad dream."    F�\��?

Read Abraham and the Apocalypse

pt 1 Abraham and Scotty

pt 2 The Run For Survival 

pt 3 Jedidiah's Mountain

Sort:  

Was he having a bad dream? Looking forward to read part 5.

You can use <div class="pull-right"> or <div class="pull-left"> or <center> tags around the image to adjust its position.

Really hooked. I have been enjoying the story. I have found so many stories to read over the last 3-4 weeks, that I made a small steemit magazine to profile, and provide links to the Authors I have been reading. Astounding Steemit Stories

Let me know if you would like this edited out I can do that, did not want to spam, just to inform I included you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67321.51
ETH 3513.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83