#2 ASPHALT QUEEN

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

photo-1485862028157-a04085db69ce.jpeg
Photo by Louis Blythe on Unsplash.

Sorry about that the other day, I was tired. Recounting events in my life is taking a toll from me, so please bear with me. Thank you for listening though, I knew you would understand. Do you want some wine? Okay then, let's continue.


I have seen people die before but I have never gotten used to the sight. Besides I was too high to think rationally at first but then I had stopped screaming. I bent to study the motionless body before me. My own body was cold, goose bumps crawled on my skin, dancing around stiff hair follicles like dancers around trees, my hands shook and fear sat within me like a stone.

I tiptoed around the body and picked up the purse that sat innocently on the floor. Sometimes one has to wonder at the content of a woman’s purse; the stories those lips would tell if they could.

Inside, I found the pellets of crack. I knew what it was because some of the girls used it to stay awake while they jumped from one customer to the next in drugged abandon. I have seen it with clients seeking for escape, for salvation, for peace, for home.

Sometimes the world is a dark place and we have to light our own paths the best way we can. Don't judge us.

I looked at the banker lady as she laid spread-eagled like one who had just been rammed through by a trio of young boys trying to prove a point. Though we had hooked up several times, I had never asked for her name and she had never been intimate enough to tell me. One would have thought she would be above pain but if you know pain, you will come to understand that it is the sibling we all don't talk about.

I shook my head and searched the purse for a phone. I found her cell phone inside but I could not do anything with it, it was passworded. Luckily a number was on the screen, obviously a missed call.

It is my business to keep secrets and maintain the dignity of my clientele. It is their business to pretend that I do not exist when they don’t need me.

I found my phone and I dialed the number. The truecaller app showed the caller ID to be one Madam Doreen. As the phone rang, a knock came on the door. I had forgotten about the people we had left downstairs at the party. I ended the call and quickly got dressed. I took deep breaths, then I opened the door.


photo-1504701954957-2010ec3bcec1.jpeg
Photo by Stephano Pollio by Unsplash.


Two men whom I had never met before stood before me. Both were clean shaven, Not a single hair stood on their shiny heads which reflected the light from the hallway. While one was short and wide, the other stood tall and slim. The slim one smiled at me with his lips even as the short one pushed me into the room and then rushed passed me, his eyes wandering all over the room. The tall one simply walked to a chair and sat down.

“Please ignore Grub, he is very dedicated to his job. Have a seat.” He said.

I took a seat as far away from him as I could. He smiled and nodded, then he dipped his hand into his suit pocket and brought out a pack of benson and hedges. He stretched the pack towards me but I declined. He shook it again and I saw the flash of the gun nestled in a shoulder holster on his right side. I took the offered cigarette and bent towards him as he flicked his gas lighter on. As the cigarette cut fire, I watched him watch me. My hands were shaking as I tried to place the cigarette on my lips.

“She is out, Brog but I can get her up.” The short man’s voice came from inside the bathroom.

I sucked the cigarette and let the smoke fill me up, my eyes fixed on the dead eyes of the tall man. His smiles never reached his eyes. They seem to hesitate at his chin and fall back. I knew when to be scared and when to start praying. The tall man lit a stick of cigarette and sat back smoking, his eyes closed as if he was at home with his family and we were having an after dinner chitchat, while the kids were in bed. I shook my head and turned around. My phone was on the bed, too far for me to get to. I had nothing to save me except my brain and at that moment my brain was a mess.

“I know this may seem really bad but I guarantee you that you have nothing to worry about. I won’t tell a soul of what I saw today. I don't even know what I had seen.” I tried to explain to Brog, my lips shaking, my eyes darting to the bulge of the gun visible on his suit.

You know how when you notice something for the first time, you can't help noticing it again and again? Well the gun could not leave my eyes alone.

“Do you know who we are?” Brog, I guess that was an alias, asked.

I shook my head. He nodded and turned as Grub came into the room carrying the banker lady. He placed her gently on the bed and turned to look at me. I turned quickly to gaze at the floor. Brog flicked his cigarette and I watched the ashes flitter in the air then fall to the floor. My cigarette was burning but my hands shook to bad for me to hold the thing on my lips.

“We have been employed to make sure that the lady over there stays alive. It is our job to watch over her as well as make sure that she does not embarrass anyone.” He dragged the cigarette smoke in and let it out.

I heard a click but I could not turn my eyes from the man before me. I could not act like I just heard a gun's safety being removed. I could not act like I knew that at any moment my brain would be decorating the floor behind me. I swallowed the bile that rushed to my throat and thrust the cigarette forcefully into my lips. I stood up. The slim one watched me and I watched him.


photo-1460013477427-b0cce3e30151.jpeg
Photo by Geetanjal Khanna on Unsplash.


This was my territory and I have been playing this game for a very long time, too long in fact. I started taking off all article of clothing I had on me. I was putting all my cards on the table and my cards were quite slim but what the hell! I will still get fucked either ways. It is either I offer it and retain some self respect before I die, or I get raped and then shot or even worse I get raped after I have been shot. There are strange creatures in the guise of men in this world of ours.

Brog turned to Grub and raised an eyebrow. Grub shrugged and dropped his gun. His hand was heavy as he grabbed me and dragged me into another part of the suite. He pushed me against the wall, and grabbed my breasts roughly. I felt his hot fetid breath on my neck and held back the bile that sat at the back of my throat. I was so focused on trying not to vomit that I did not hear his zip go down, or the rustle of his boxer short as he brought his dick out. The next thing I heard was another scream. Yes it was me screaming again as a sharp pain ran through my rectum to my brain. The beast had his penis in my ass.

I struggled away from him but he held me close and the man was strong. I begged him. I swear I begged him with all the names of all the gods that I knew and even others that I didn’t know I knew but the goat kept thrusting into me. As he came inside me, my knees gave out on me and I fell to the floor. He grunted above me, leering like a hyena. His sour sweat fell on me as blood and semen leaked out of me. I passed out.

I know you hear stories like this all the time and the world is indeed a weird place where evil is so common place that we no longer get shocked by such things. I will not bore you with how I laid there and bled while the two men got the banker lady back on her feet and left. I will only tell you that the Brog came to meet me, lying on the floor. He squatted over me and shook his head

“Never offer to pay when you have not heard the price, my dear girl.” He had said.

I laid in the darkness and wept for myself, for this broken shell that I call home, for my son in his innocence, for my mother in her pain, for this broken world were beasts were better men than men, then I slept.


I woke up to hands lifting me from the floor. I opened my eyes to watch the fearful eyes of the waiter that had served me water. He carried me to the bathroom and gently laid me in the tub. I watched him as he filled the bath and we both watched the blood soak the water. He opened a bottle of Jack Daniels and gave it to me. I opened my mouth and let the fiery spirit fill my throat. He watched me and I watched me from the dark place were I hid, cringing in pain and shame. We had no words; I was dumb with pain, he had been paid to stay dumb.

He cleaned me as best as he could while I drank myself to stupor then he carried me back to the room and helped me get dressed. He helped me down the stairs and stopped a taxi for me. As I entered the taxi, he handed a slip of paper to me. I took it and sat back carefully as the pain slowly sipped into my bones. The waiter paid the taxi and the driver asked me for directions. I managed to whisper the directions to the motel then I closed my eyes and went to sleep.

The taxi driver woke me up on arriving at the motel, and I carefully stepped out, holding the bottle of Jack Daniel and the slip of paper. The asphalt tilted before me as I tried to walk on weak legs. The taxi driver called me back and handed me my purse containing my phone. I took it and mumbled my thanks.


photo-1507297267319-53c03c242f53.jpeg
Photo by Hajran Pambudi on Unsplash.


I walked passed the late night silence of the motel. From the corner of my eyes I could see one or two ghosts sitting in the cold, smoke curling from their lips, liquor before them as well as memories of better days when they still lived as someone's beloved daughter. One of them called out to me, I raised my hand and walked on.

I entered my room and shut the door. I dropped the bottle on the table and the paper stained with liquor fell from my hand. I bent, staggered and picked it up. It was a check for 500k. That is how much a rape is worth these days. I fell on my bed and wept.


Someone is at the door, we will continue some other time. You would think that I do not cry as I tell you this tale. You would think that I do not hurt but sometimes, life has to come first over whatever emotional trauma you are facing. You have to eat, work, sleep, and talk with people. You have to live and now you have to also share your story with strangers. Well, my eyes are heavy with the pain but I am used to hiding stuff, so I dab some powder here, some powder there and I am good as new. You should go, we will talk later. There is more to tell.


TO BE CONTINUED...


Previous episode include;

Episode 1


©warpedpoetic, 2018.


Sort:  

Man

Don't tell me this stuff is real

The beginning looks like its real...

I appreciate the subtle themes in your piece especially in the beginning. People do a lot of things just to keep body and soul together and their sanity intact

Good one bro

@iamthegray, it is as real as it gets bro. You should check out the first episode, so you can follow. It will be up once a week. So the lady can tell her story properly, Ehn?

Hmm

Not sure I can follow, you know.

School has resumed. I can't stay as long as I used to on steemit. Will drop by from time to time though.

And yes, I think the story telling is good.

Blessings

This is the harsh reality of life. It happens around us everyday.

Shed more light on this part it screams.

Life is harsh @catherinedouglas. We sometimes have to make something out of all the mess we get plastered on us.

O my !!!..
Stories like this are so so real to me..
I felt for the character. Could you believe I almost cried, when the character begged in the names of God's he knew.

Some men are scum.
To the victim he'd be fine, though that incident might change him.

And if it where to be some people they won't feel bad because they got a cheque of 50k.

Please the next episode...

Check of 50k.

Yeah these are stuff that happen every day especially to those who have no protection. The world is bad.

Thanks for stopping by @uche-nna

Smiles..
And bigger thanks to you, for me a reason to always do so.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Once again, very interesting and it didn't go the way I was expecting it to go. I look forward to reading the next chapter. Thanks for sharing!

You are welcome @bozz. It will continue as long as the idea stays fresh in my head. So expect an episode every week.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 22 SBD worth and should receive 128 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Either you or someone who valued your post shared this post on Pimp Your Post Thursday in the Steemit Ramble discord. Looking forward to you visiting us again.

Your post has been upvoted by the @steemiansarens. Our goal is to support minnows and help them grow. You can join our discord server here Whastapp here.. You can also support us by either contributing steem or delegating SP to us

Breaths down heavily...

Feels so good to read this 2nd episode. Missing it would have been equivalent to missing one season of Game of Thrones.

First I wanted to thank you for not ending it with those your George RR Martin wicked kind of suspense; but just when I thought you didn't, I was wrong; you actually did. Now I am left with the thoughts of how did the men know when to come in, what STI of STD she is now going to deal with and what happens to her when she tries to cash the cheque? Those thoughts are now messing with my mind.

I hope this story doesn't end soon and I wish you can create another page were readers can speculate what happens next. The suspense is killing and maybe that will do some little healing. Unless you choose to be more wicked than George RR Martin and make us see something worse than the Red Wedding by putting our speculations to shame.

Nice stroy @warpedpoetic and excellent use of words. Abeg no forget to continue am.

Now I am breathing tensly because of your Martin's style.

Oh I am continuing it. One episode per week of course. It is the suspense that makes the next episode interesting enough to read Na. I don't think I have gotten near George Martins, the only author that has managed to break my heart at the beginning of a book and in so doing killed my zeal to read the book further. 😂

This asphalt queen story has a life of its own and I have no control over where it leads. I am curious too as to what she does with the check but I am more curious as to what she does with something else.

I will take your advice and I will be leaving some sort of question at the end of each episode so we can have a conversation.

but I am more curious as to what she does with something else.

Now I hate you more than I hate Martin.

Keep the suspense coming. Smiles

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63569.77
ETH 3424.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50