The Day My City Stood-Still: Chapter 8 (Original)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

The Quest for Freedom


You can read the previous chapters here:

Chapter 1- The Introduction
Chapter 2- The Taxi
Chapter 3- The Garment Factory
Chapter 4- The Materialist
Chapter 5- The Policeman
Chapter 6- The Brat Guitarist
Chapter 7- The Transport Company


QUESTFORFREEDOM.jpg


Ebenezer is waiting for his turn, standing in front of Bucky’s office door. The glass door shields the conversations, happening within the confines of Bucky’s office from the outside world, but the animated and over the top nature of Bucky, gives it way easily to anyone who observes him from outside. And so is the case today, as Ebenezer is standing right in front of the door, he has been observing every move that Bucky has made till now. A little flame of hope and optimism ignites within him, which faintly illuminates the otherwise dark and hallow space, also known as his heart. Ebenezer mumbles to himself, it seems to be a lucky day for me as boss is apparently looking upbeat today. Seeing boss in an ebullient mood is as rare as sighting a UFO in a clear sky. And a smile on his face can easily be compared to the Himalayan Bigfoot, as people only speculate of its existence but no one has ever seen it in flesh and bone. While Ebenezer is busy building an imaginary empire on quicksand, he gets a beckon from Bucky from inside the office.

Come on in, says Bucky, while Ebenezer tries enters into the room by pulling the glass door towards him. Meet my friend Mr. Kyle Metthew. Although, technically he works for the Bangalore Police Department, but in reality, he has been my accomplice for years now. If not for him, I wouldn’t have been able to deliver the first installment of the “goods” to my customers on time yesterday. He came to the rescue when my trailer, carrying the consignment, was stopped at a check post for scrutiny. By god’s grace he was the in-charge at the post and as soon as he learnt that the trailer belonged to me, he let the trailer pass through the check-post without conducting the necessary inspection drill. He saved me from incurring huge financial & logistical losses and that’s the reason behind our celebratory mood right now. Anyway enough of my talk, tell me what brings you here? Rosie, Bucky’s secretory, told me that you wanted to talk to me about something urgently.

Yes boss I do, Ebenezer responds reluctantly. I- I needed to talk to you in private. Oh yes of course! I got to get going anyway. My morning shift start at 7 AM and its 6.30 AM already, as per my watch. Alright Bucky, I see you later. Says Mr. Metthew and exits the room. So now spill the bean!! What’s so important and secretive that you weren’t able to wait to share? Asks Bucky in a gradually increasing pitch. As Ebenezer tries to speak, his tongue seemingly defies his brain and the beats of his heart try to outrun Usain Bolt in a 100 Meter sprint. Boss I just wanted to say that… My health does not allow me to continue with this strenuous occupation and that’s why I want to quit. I just want to start the second innings of my life, in the lap of Himalayas, somewhere far away from here. As soon as Bucky hears this from Ebenezer, his facial expressions change and the jovial mood just vanishes into thin air. He gets incinerated from inside but still tries to control it for the moment and says. Ebenezer, you yourself know this very well, in a profession like ours, it’s so easy to get in but mighty difficult to get out. It’s like riding a tiger. As far as you are on top of the tiger, you are alive and moving faster than everyone around you. And the moment you try to disengage, you either get eaten alive by the tiger itself or the fall, at this speed, leaves you dead or vegetated. Now you tell me, would you still want to quit and start your “second innings”?

Yes boss I do, replies Ebenezer. I have had enough of this game now and the time has come for me to take my chances to do something else in life. I do understand what you are saying, the odds are against me, but even if I have a slightest of change, I would like to explore it. Okey! says Bucky in a deceptive manner. You have been my only trustworthy confederate, all this while, but since you have already made up your mind I will not force you to change it. But!! Since its just 17th of April today and it will be difficult for me to hire another driver, as skilled and reliable as you are, I ask you to stick around till the end of this month. As soon as I find a suitable replacement for you, I will bid you adieu myself the very same day. Sound like a deal? Asks Bucky. To which Ebenezer replies. I have persisted with you through thick and thin, for 28 long years now and here it’s just a matter of a couple of weeks alone. I am fine with the deal. Thank you boss!!

Alright, so now since we have struck a deal, I guess you are happy. And now it’s time you did something to return the favor. I have yet another consignment ready, the second installment of “goods”, waiting to be delivered to my customer. The truck is loaded and ready, all you have to do is to drive it to my customer’s location where they will unload it. I know you are tired as you have driven the whole night, but I cannot trust anyone else for this all important task. Once you are done with this, you can have a day off. I think it’s completely fair. Isn’t it? Asks Bucky. Yes boss, says Ebenezer. You have been so accommodative of me, in return I can at least do this simple task for you, to show my gratitude.

Ebenezer reaches to the parking lot where he sees a locked and loaded truck waiting for him. He boards the truck, puts the engine into ignition and starts to drive towards the location which has been provided to him.


At the same time, on the other side of the city, at Minister Anthony’s house, Jonny has finally come down to the breakfast table and is having a conversation with his father. Yes father, what is that urgent matter that made you disturb me so early in the morning. Why can’t I ever get a normal start to my mornings?

Hold on Jonny, Mr. Anthony says, I know you have a lot of complaints. I know I haven’t given you a lot of my time in the past, and to an extent your grouses are justified as well. See, I am trying make things right between us and towards that, here is my first step. Mr. Anthony hands a key over to Jonny. Here is your much awaited Harley Davidson- Heritage Softail Classic bike. I got to know from your mother that you wanted it, so I thought of gifting you this on your big performance day, as a token of my love and support. Go and enjoy on your new possession and I will see you in the evening, at the event. All the very best and I am sure you will do fabulous job.!

As soon as Jonny gets his new bike, the whole personality of his changes. All of a sudden he becomes a happy kid. He thanks his father and runs out of the house in a hurry. Jonny makes a phone call to his biker friends. Guys, you won't believe it, what my father did today. He totally surprised me by doing something totally unexpected. Guys he has given me my dream bike I was talking to you people about. You all come to our rendezvous point, lets hit the road today, and yeah we got to get back before 5 PM as I have my guitar performance in the evening.

After about 15 Minutes four of his best friends, each one on his super bike, arrive at the rendezvous point, from where they all start biking to a pre-decided place as their destination.


End of Chapter 8


Question: Do you think Bucky will let Ebenezer go so easily? Or is there something that more to it?

If you liked this and would like to know what happens next, please upvote this post and follow me @vinyprop.

Do drop in your comments to let me know if you liked it or not. Thanks!!


PosterMaker-1499582026550.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for Share! like your post and love it!

Thank you @rakiblove for the encouraging words. ✌️Peace..!!

You are trying very best in the fiction

Indeed @sakshikaushik. I am trying from my side. Anyways I would take it as a compliment. ✌️ Peace..!!

If you work with me on steem you can earn 5$ every single day join this group free https://chat.whatsapp.com/0ofx0AhYJrz5fw2NSPAiN4

Hi @vinyprop , what I sense is that; there is definitely something dubious going on in Bucky's psyche . A money-minded man like him wouldn't let Ebenzer escape so conveniently from his ambush. This pact could be just another deception of his slick mind. Scrupulously waiting for the climax.

Thank you @amritasingh. Climax will be here soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66735.55
ETH 3509.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71