The Day My City Stood-Still: Chapter 5 (Original)

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Chapter 5- The Policeman

You can read the previous chapters here:
Chapter- 1
Chapter- 2
Chapter- 3
Chapter- 4

C5_Policeman.jpg

Dawn has just broken and the velvety neonate rays of morning Sun have just started nudging the surface of the earth gently. The golden simmer of the sunrays is being disbursed to every inch of earth, in sight, impartially. The rapturous gush of cold breeze is alleviating everything and everyone who is crossing its path of sway. Chirping of birds can be heard clearly from a distance and the asphalt of Bangalore’s roads is enjoying a moment of solace, before the onslaught of black rubber on it. It almost appears to be a scene of a sleepy town, away from the hustle and chaos of a city. But in reality, it is just the moment of calm before the storm strikes.

All that the human eye is being presented with, is a bunch of people in their janitor dresses, cleaning up the mess created by the “civilized” citizens of this city. Also can be found, is a pack of stray dogs, guarding their territory from the rival gang of dogs from the adjacent street. Midst of all this, are there a few vehicles on the roads, twirling their way through towards their destinations. Amongst those vehicles, there is a wobbly motor bike which is screaming for euthanasia, as it tries to carry its 67 KG payload, also officially known as Calvin Pritish, home. Calvin is leaving a trail of breadcrumbs, in the form of a thick black smoke, coming out of his bike’s exhaust pipe. He is finally returning back from his night duty of keeping the Bangalore city streets safe from the fringe elements of the society. He is a trafic policemen who has served the “Bangalore City Police Department” for the last 22 years.

Last night has been long & hard on Calvin, as he has patrolled the city streets right up till dawn. And now he is heading towards his house, only to take bath and have a bite or two, before he reports back to the police station for the day’s duty. The Bangalore Police is working round the clock, these last few weeks, in preparation for the presidential visit to the city. And Calvin hving gotten no exception here, has been asked to takeup extra responsibilities and three night duties in a week, along with six regular days, comes as a part of the package for the time being. Calvin’s journey is finally coming to its end as he takes the right turn to enter into the police quarters.

Calvin enters the house and exclaims, Donna I am home! Where are you? Come and see I am here. As Calvin unknots his muddy police boots, Donna comes running from the balcony where she was laying the washed clothes for drying. Donna shouts on top her voice, What the hell Calvin!! Thousands of times I have told you to leave your dirty shoes outside, before entering the house. I have waited for the last 20 years of our married life, for that one day when my husband would listen to me, for a change. But my fate has only left me waiting till date. Calm down dear, says Calvin in his calm voice, I will come back in the night and that’s when I will give you plentiful opportunity to bombard me with all your grumble. For now, please give me some breakfast as I need to be heading back to the station in an hours time from now. Yeah yeah, why would you have time to listen to me now, blabbers Donna in a sarcastic tone. You know very well that whatever I speak is a truth, a hard hitting one, and your ego does not allow you to take that up so easily. As soon as I begin to say something, you would start taking evasive actions, just to dodge the moment. But today, no one can stop me!

Donna continues; Every month I struggle to sustain & manage the ever increasing expenses of this house with your paltry salary. With Laura, their 18 years old daughter, having entered the university this month, the race of hand to mouth is going to only get worse from here. And for your information its just 17th of April today, and that is we are only in the middle of the month and I am left with just 2000 Rupees (circa- $31) to manage with, with close to two weeks to your next payday. Tell me now, how am I supposed to remain calm and cheerful when all I do since dawn to midnight, is to pray to god, to show me a day when I will have my own house, I will have the freedom of buying a dress for myself wothout thinking twice, I will buy a scooty for my daughter so that she can go to college comfortably, without getting pushed in the mad rush of public transport. If nothing else, take a cue from our naighbour Matthew family. He is also on the same post and rank as you are, but see how extravagantly they lead their lives and here we are, only trying to endure, one day at a time.

I do understand everything you say, says Calvin. I am not trying to defend myself here, but Matthew can afford to lead a lavishly live because he is not a man of honour & principles. He takes bribe from lawbreakers and is involved in many under the table transactions. And for me, I am happy to lead a simple, underprivileged life than accepting bribe while killing my conscience. The day I die, I want to be remembered for a man who always held his head high, and not for a person who sold his soul to the devil and died without a conscience. Look Donna, I am all ears for all your complaints, taunts and sarcasm, but I just cant compromise on any of my principles, at any cost.

Calvin leaves for the bathroom and Donna goes into the kitchen to prepare some breakfast for the family. Having lost much of the available time in the altercation with Donna, Calvin quickly takes bath and gets dressed up in his police uniform. He leaves the house without breaking fast, due to lack of time on his hands and reports to the police station just in time.

Question: Do you think Donna is right, on her part, for being harsh and complaining?

If you liked this and would like to know what happens next, please upvote this post and follow me @vinyprop.


Do drop in your comments to let me know whether you liked it or not. Thanks!!


PosterMaker-1499582026550.jpg

Sort:  

@vinyprop, I have been following your story from the chapter one you had written few days ago, to the chapter five of today, I would take a minute to applaud you. I can see the journey of you moving from being amateur to the elite group of writers. This one too as the earlier ones, is beautifully written, you nailed the common man's ordeal really well. I can say it's commendable. Loved the starting paragraph of the chapter, I could experience the dawn now, sipping my coffee in the evening. Keep doing the good job. Waiting for more. And as for Donna, completely emphatetic towards her, like any loving woman, she wants the best for her family.

Thank you @vidyabanjan for the encouragement. Your empathy for Donna is nothing but natural and I respect that. Keep supporting. Peace..!!

This time your description of the morning is so poetic and beautifully framed that i became the part of it while reading. Calvin is the hope for a common man who faces his currupt fellows every day. Dona represents every common middle class homemaker and at the same time the strrugling life partener of an honest cop. She is a good mother but she should stand by her hubby and should respect his honesty. Waiting for the new common man of your story

Thank you very much for the kind and encouraging words. Much appreciated..!!

Fantastic writing @vinyprop ...loved description of morning scene so accurate...characters are also well written..I feel Donna is also right in some way as she caring for her family but not fully as she should understand Calvin is a honest person, and a person without values and principles is nothing..waiting for your next post..keep up the great work 👍🏻👍🏻

Thank you @nehachauhan for the kind words... The way you think of Donna can not be questioned. She is a lady who just wants the best for herself and her family. Keep your supportive hands with me. Thanks. Peace..!!

@vinyprop, What a marvelous story telling sir.. Fantastically scripted story of a common man fighting his day to day battles. In my humble opinion, a man without honor is a man without spine. Die hungry than live eating in slavery. It is very difficult these days to retain integrity midst all the corrupt sell-swords all around us. Thanks for bringing the matter up. Already looking forward to the next chapter in the series. :)

Thank you @amritasingh for the support.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vinyprop from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thanks mate..!! :)

Congratulations @vinyprop! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66735.55
ETH 3509.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71