You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TWB Sci-Fi Contest Top Five!

in #fiction7 years ago

I'm thrilled to be amongst this company. I really enjoyed the process, but more importantly, learned a great deal from it.

I loved all these stories, and many more I got to read during the editing process. I can only imagine how difficult it was - but all of these really stood out to me in terms of the depths of their characters, and originality of plot.

Thanks so much for letting me grow as part of this competition!

Sort:  

So, @valued-customer, where can this story be read? I don't see it on your blog anywhere. I was so interested that I'm now a member of that Discord channel writer's community. Let the games begin!

I noticed that just now, in fact =)

I think it's a great place. Good stories and better folk. I have learned much in just a couple months there. You're a great writer, and it'll be a place where you can find like minds and get more attention to your posts.

I confess, the constant editing of my entry has cost me a lot of commenting time on posts of folks I follow, including you. I think it paid off though, cuz the story I came up with isn't half what the story that placed in this competition is, thanks to the good editing and thoughtful suggestions I got at The Writer's Block.

'Fresh Meat (V4)' is currently under the red pencil in the queue for the competition, where you can see the next to current version.

I could show you the current version, but I'm not sure that's allowed by the rules. If it is, I'll drop you a link as soon as I hear it's kosher. Or halal. Not judging =p

You'll do better than I have on the discord for TWB. I'm a poor joiner, despite my best efforts.

...as soon as I hear it's kosher

Ah, yes. They do control the media. ;-}

I'll wait for the final version. I'm excited about this group. And fret not about all the editing. Writing is like portrait painting...it's never really done. Every time I read one of my short stories I change something, a word, a phrase or word order. Sometimes I delete entire paragraphs. Many of my stories were written 10 or more years ago. Their technology is out of date. It's process and it's fun.

You'll do better than I have on the discord for TWB. I'm a poor joiner, despite my best efforts.

I'd like to believe that. I am mostly a recluse. I never join. Social media has never called to me. I'm not even sure how to proceed. Though I love to clack away at the keyboard, doing it in public is stressful for me. I tend to alienate people. What I write about isn't very popular because it is designed to make people to think about and examine their motives. Most people read for escape. I need to learn how to become more clandestine, to create fiction that slips under their radar. I hope TWB can help me with that.

I want people to read my writing and at this point I'm trying to make that happen. I definitely need guidance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58510.90
ETH 2522.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36