ONE SUMMER FANTASY EPISODE #10: The Big Decision

in #fiction6 years ago

My injuries were healing up gradually, I couldn’t go to class during these period because of my appearance. I still had to report to senior Marvins every evening as he had ordered. I explained to him that I had not been able to go to class because as I was sick. He bought the story and let me off till I was well enough.

Zainab kept sending Ahmed to me daily, checking up on me. Ahmed had to lie to her that I was terribly sick that’s why I had not been in class throughout the week. She would come towards the boys hostel sending messages for me to just come out to see her. I didn’t want her to see the injuries on my body. So I would reply whoever she sent that I was sleeping. I would send notes to her through Ahmed, assuring her that as soon as I am well enough I would come to class.


I hated the fact that I missed class, I was beginning to slag behind in my studies, so I had to make up by copying notes brought to me from the class. I tried my best not to get bothered about it. I put in more effort on reading textbooks so as to meet up academically.

Senior David, senior Marvins said I should come and call you

a junior student said to me one Sunday afternoon. I had been feeling well already, I had told Zainab I will see her in night prep that day.
I would wear cardigan to cover the few bruises on my hands.

I thought to myself as I strolled to senior Marvins hostel.

yes senior

I announced my presence to him.

I want to believe you will be going to night prep today

senior Marvins queried.

yes senior

I replied.

Good, So when you come back from prep, come and tell me what she said. If you like lie to me like you lied to Pyop. I will just kill you

he told me, as he waved me off.

Good evening senior

I greeted senior Pyop as I stumbled on him on my way back to Ahmed’s hostel.

senior Pyop please wait

I pleaded as I ran after him.

what is it?

What do you want to tell me again?

What other lie do you want to tell me?

he poured out.

I could feel his soft spot coming to fore.

The feared senior Pyop, whose name alone instilled fear into the hearts of students, could become this meek and humble?

I’m sorry I lied to you. I’m sorry I didn’t tell you the truth

I pleaded.

was it so hard for you to have just told me you love her? Was it so hard for you to have just told me that she’s your girlfriend?

he queried.

No senior, she’s not my girlfriend. I have not asked her out yet

I replied.

oh yet,

that means you already had intentions of toasting her and you couldn’t tell me

he said painfully.

but I asked you, didn’t I?

he asked me.
I nodded my head for I couldn’t utter a word.

I didn’t want you to be a bad person by forcing you to talk to her for me, that’s why I asked you if you had feelings for her. But you denied it. Why

he asked soberly.

I’m sorry. I just didn’t know what to do. I felt you would beat me also if I told you I liked her

I replied him truthfully.

why would I beat you? I’m I that wicked?

he asked.
ehn??? Is that a question or a statement?
I asked him in my mind.

I didn’t know senior

I continued.

please don’t ever block my path again, I don’t need your apology.

As for Zainab, I will not drag her with you, you and Marvins can have her for all I care

he said as he walked off.
I continued on as I pitied him. I had hurt him. I had humbled the beast in him. I noticed it that moment that senior Pyop had not been more of a public figure anymore.

I guess love does humble a man
I said to myself.

Night Prep

are you sure you’ll be able to do this?

Ahmed asked me as we approached the class area for night prep.

yes I am sure

I replied him.

I don’t have any other choice. I just have to do it

I continued.

Zainab ran quickly from the class block area straight into my arms as she sighted me from afar.

I have so missed you Mulla

she said as she smiled.
That look, that smile, that face

I had terribly missed them. I pushed her away slowly, as the smile begun to fade from her face.

what is it

she asked

oh did I hug you too tight

she asked smiling.

I guess I’m better now

I replied her.

it’s been a whole week I didn’t see you. Did you get my messages? Because I got yours

she asked as she looked in Ahmed’s direction accusingly.

yes I got them

I told her.
As I thought of how to relay to her what I had in mind.

Mulla we go see later na, make I enter class

Ahmed said.

okay no problem, later

I replied

bye Ahmed

Zainab chipped in.

Zainab we need to talk

I said to her as I pulled away from her. I could see the colours on her face change. I could sense confusion and fears written over her.

whatever you have to tell me can wait.
I need to know about your health

she said as she drew me into herself.

Let’s go to class, I brought you something

she said as she dragged me.
I practically had to follow along. God give me the strength to do what I have to do please. I prayed silently.

Lara please wait

I called out as we entered the class. Shock was written all over Zainab.

what is it?

Lara asked visibly angry.

I need to talk to you please. Just give me few minutes with Zainab

I pleaded.

what is it you want to talk to me about?

she asked.

Cmon just few minutes with Zainab and I’ll tell you what I have in mind, please

I prodded her further.

okay no problem, I’m waiting

she said as she went to meet her clique of friends.

what was that for?

Zainab asked me, visibly furious and filled with jealousy.

nothing

I replied her.

After everything she did, you could still go talk to her?

she blurted out loudly.

Zainab I told you we needed to talk, but you…

Talk about what

she cut me off.

Answer me, what are you talking to her about David?

images (48).jpeg

source

She asked me.
She only calls me David whenever she’s angry with me.

I don’t want this to continue

I told her.

what?
What do you mean?

she replied looking shocked and confused.

I don’t want us to be seeing each other again

I told her.

I don’t want us to be friends anymore. I don’t want to ever talk to you again and I don’t want you to ever talk to me again. You can keep my English note with you, I’ve gotten another one

I told her bluntly.
Zainab went from being angry and jealous to being completely pale and grief stricken. She could not utter a word and she kept staring at me.

I turned and walked away from her without looking back, Zainab never tried stopping me. I sensed she was about to breakdown. But I had no choice. I had made up my mind. I don’t want this to continue. I said to myself. Ahmed stood up and ran straight to Zainab as I headed straight to Lara’s seat.

To be Continued...

Read previous Episodes

One Summer Fantasy Episode 1

One Summer Fantasy Episode 2

One summer Fantasy Episode 3

One Summer Fantasy Episode 4

One Summer Fantasy Episode 5

One Summer Fantasy Episode 6 - The Betrayal

One Summer Fantasy Episode 7 - Untold Tales

One Summer Fantasy Episode 8- Bold Moves

One Summer Fantasy Episode 9 - A Sordid Affair

@ungest

Sort:  

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

You got a 2.41% upvote from @upme thanks to @ungest! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86