TinyReads #4: Born to Run

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

It’s been a while since I uploaded my last audiostory. About three months, I think. High time to do another one, right?

Right.

Last night, I recorded and edited a narration of another one of my rainbow stories. This one, Born to Run, was inspired by a friend of mine, Pierre, who has had the company of an adopted Spanish Galgo or Podenco for as long as I’ve known him.


Born to Run.jpg

It tells the story of a nameless Galgo, bred and born in a barn somewhere in an anonymous region of Spain. These animals have a hard life, full of hunger and harsh treatment from their masters. When racing season is over, those who performed less than expected are disposed of cruelly.

More information, as well as the written version of the piece can be found here.

Stories like these are just as hard to write as they are to read. I remember after writing it, that I needed some light-hearted relief writing afterwards. I think I’ll be needing it again this time. But I happily keep doing it, because these stories need to be told.

Hugs

Tiny


If you would like to read some of my work, feel free to have a look around on my off-Steem blog page by clicking the banner. My library there contains all of the pieces I’ve written since starting my blockchain adventure.






About the INKubator

As a writer, finding the right community–the right tribe–makes all the difference.

For me, that’s the INKubator. I’m one of the admins there, and I have to say I’ve never been more proud of something I helped build, than I am of the INKubator.

We help each other improve, lovingly drown each other’s drafts in red ink, and help each other brainstorm.

But we’re more than a writing club. We’re a family. We root for each other as we submit pieces for various publication venues.

We cheer and join in victory dances when a piece is accepted.

We support each other through the disappointment of the inevitable rejections.

We hang out, playing as hard as we work, and from the madness of our conversations, more stories are born.

As a community, we span the globe, with members from Asia, Australia, Europe and the US, so chances are there will be someone there if you should decide to drop in.

If we’re quiet, that’s because we’re writing.

If you love writing, we'd love to meet you!



The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

This was one of the first stories I had read of yours after coming to TWB. I think it's still one of the saddest stories I've read to date.

Yeah. It's probably the saddest and the most gruesome of the rainbow series. It wasn't easy to work on but it's one I'm still really proud of.

YOU SHOULD BE! It's an amazing story and you did an amazing job on it.

Thanks. I wouldn't have managed it without you and Andrew.

I remember reading this way back and how sad it was, but ultimately outweighed by hope @tinypaleokitchen

You have a lovely reading voice and use excellent pausing and emphasis here, and above all the emotions behind it is what makes it a great reading of a great story.

Wow. Thank you so much!
blushes

Wow. I was in the steemit ramble server today and I found this older post from 3 months ago. It was really an eye opener. I just followed you and added you to my Gina. I feel I could learn a thing or two by tagging along here.

Interesting story here, soothing voice, well accentuated.

Thank you. I've discovered that I really like doing narration.

You're welcome dear. I have joined TWB discord server. Hoping to learn.

There you go.. 1up

This post has been selected for curation by @gmuxx and has been upvoted with the @msp-curation account, and is featured in @GMuxx's weekly fiction curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport community curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account.

Feel free to join us in the Minnow Support Palnet Discord!. For editing help and writing assistance consider joining The Writers' Block Discord server.

Wow. Thank you so much!

Thank you for this great post, the education and awareness, and all you do to support @tarc, @tinypaleokitvhen.

Thank you, Jayna.
Hugs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34