Somewhere over the rainbow

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

I just know they will take my babies away from me again. They’ve done it so many times. It’s an endless cycle.


Like my mother before me, I was born right here. In the barn of the Nasty Man. My sister and I were only pups when he came to take us away from her. His scent was everywhere, and it’s all we had ever known.

We heard a door open on the other side of the barn and our mother stepped in front of us. She wanted to protect us from the Nasty Man, but what could she hope to accomplish? She was a little poodle. The Nasty man is a giant.
“Get out of my way, poodle.” He brushed her aside with his foot and came straight for us. We cried as we were carried away. He didn’t even let us say goodbye.

Then we were out of the barn and into a much brighter space. There were crates with open tops. Just like in the barn where we lived with our mother, only much cleaner. There were soft blankets on the ground instead of smelly, scratchy straw. We were placed in one of these crates. The crates next to ours all held pups too. Instead of curls they had long straight hair or short bristly hair, but we recognised each other just the same. We were all lost babies.

That was the day I realised something: the world was bigger than the Nasty Man’s barn. 

There was another door in this new place. A bell rang every time it opened. People would come through and walk around, looking at all the babies in all the crates. They would often pick one of us up and cuddle us. At first we were afraid. The Nasty Man had picked us up too, and taken our mothers away from us. But these people were nice to us. They would often pick out one of the babies in the crates, walk up to the Nasty Man and say, “We’ll take this one.” The babies that got picked were treated with kindness as they were carried out through the door with the ringing bell. I hoped they found a better life out there.

That’s what happened to my sister. A woman came up to our cage and picked us both up. My sister was not as shy as I was and she kissed the woman. “Oh, you are adorable,” she said as she kissed her back. She put me down and carried my sister over to the Nasty Man. “I’ll take this one.” That was the last time we saw each other.

Two days later, the Nasty Man came up to my crate. He picked me up. After all the sweet smelling, kind people, his stale scent smelled even worse. I was so scared, I couldn’t stop shaking. “Good thing I haven’t sold you yet. Now that that poodle is dead, I’m lucky I still have you.” He carried me back to the barn. Surely he wasn’t talking about my mother. Was my mother dead? I cried out, hoping to hear her voice. There was no answer.

I don’t know how much time I spent in the barn. I was in there for so long, I almost forgot how it felt to be clean. Soft hands no longer petted me before moving on to the next crate. Smiling humans with sweet scents no longer looked down at me. The only one who touched me now was the Nasty Man when he cut my hair if it got too tangled. My nose no longer wrinkled at his scent or at the smell of stale urine that was everywhere.

I knew that I wasn’t a baby anymore at some point, because the Nasty Man started making me have babies. And he took them away. All of them. Each and every time.

Like my mother before me, I didn’t stand a chance of protecting them from him. It didn’t stop me from trying though. No amount of kicks would make me not stand in front of my babies, baring my teeth and growling. It never worked.

I’ve lost count of how many babies I‘ve lost. But I am getting more and more tired. There’s never enough to eat. Even my babies are going hungry. I don’t have enough milk to feed them all. No matter how hard I try, I can’t save them all.

I’m about to give birth, but it hurts. It hurts too much. Something is wrong, but the other dogs in the barn can’t help me. They can’t even help themselves.

I don’t know how long I’ve lain here, trying to push them out. But I can’t. I’m too tired. I hear footsteps outside the door. Someone opens it. It’s not the Nasty Man. The scent is all wrong. I smell something clean instead of sweat, cigarettes and greed. I remember that clean smell from the bright room. It’s the scent of smiling people. I hear friendly voices as they pass through and try to reassure the dogs in the cages.

“Take this one out first. Get her to the vet. Hurry!” The footsteps have finally made it to my crate. The face that goes with the voice looks friendly.

For the second time in my life, I’m carried out of the barn. Only this time I’m not afraid.

They carry me outside. It’s so bright. It hurts my eyes after spending so much time in the barn. “I bet you’ve never seen sunshine.” Is that what the light is called? Sunshine? It’s beautiful.

“Hey! What are you doing? Get back here. That’s my dog. You can’t just take her.” I hear the Nasty Man and I begin to whimper. He’ll take me back to the barn. I can’t go back! I bury my face in the coat of the man holding me. If I hide, perhaps he won't see me.

The man carrying me suddenly looks very angry. He turns towards the Nasty Man. “Watch me.” He looks down at me and pets my head. He keeps talking to me as he hands me over to a woman with blonde hair. She, too, smiles at me. 

“Hello, darling. Let’s have a look at you.”

“She’s in labour but she looks exhausted. I think she needs a C-section,” the man says.

The woman looks at me, and prods my belly. “You’re right. We need to move. She doesn’t have much time left.” The woman looks worried. I feel like I should be scared. I can’t, though. It hurts too much. I feel something stinging my leg, and I close my eyes.

When I wake up, I’m in a cage, but there is a blanket. Food and water. And three sleeping babies. The smell in the air tickles my nose and I sneeze. There’s a sharp scent here that I don't recognize.

The woman walks over to my cage. “Oh, it’s nice to see you awake, darling. We need to see about getting you a name, though. I can’t keep calling you Darling. We’ve decided not to rehome you. You’ve probably lost enough puppies in your life. You and these babies will be staying with me.”

I have a human, now. Finally. She lives in a nice house. My pups and I get to go outside and look at the sun whenever we want. The ground outside is soft and green. My human calls it grass. I’ve learned the smells of  grass, sunshine and rain. Heaven must smell like this too. My human named me Dorothy. After the girl who clicked her heels and finally found her way home. She told me the story, but I didn’t get it all. Doesn’t matter. I’m hers, and she’s mine.
 



I pledge to donate the SBD income from the upvotes on this post to the Tazewell ARC by way of @rhondak. I met her about five days ago and I already love her to bits. She's a real live hero, who runs an animal shelter without funding or community support. For more info on the hurdles she faces, go here. She's also an amazing person with a warm heart and a sharp mind, and don't forget her sense of humour.

Besides doing amazing things for animals in need, she also does amazing things for this community. We owe her for the existence of  #fiction-workshop, the SFT curation trail, and a lot of other things that I don't even remotely understand.

This story was written in her honour. I owe big kudos to @bex-dk and @thinknzombie for their help today. I woke up with an ending in my head, and they help me story my ending into something readable. I realise that most people end a story instead of storying an end but I never said I was conventional.

Thank you!!! 


Sort:  

Great story!

I am pleased to announce that your post has been featured in Max Curation Edition No. 8 published on Steemit.

You can take a look at it HERE.

Congratulations! Upvoted and resteemed.

Thank you so much!

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

I accept! Thank you!

I really enjoyed reading your story!
It really bothers me when people don't treat animals with respect.

Thank you. It bothers me too. Hence the story. I believe we can judge a person by how they treat their animals.

and to a certain extent we can judge a person by how animals treat them. I trust my dog's judgement in people implicitly

This is an incredible story. Oh, goodness. @tinypaleokitchen, I can tell you're familiar with puppy mills. They're a bane of human existence. This story captures the heart of this so eloquently. Sciene has proven with PET Scans and other advanced brain imaging that dogs experience emotion exactly as humans do. So just imagine what this kind of life does to them.

I hope it does what it's meant to do. Give these animals a voice. And with the MaM, help you raise yours. ;-)

Thank you. :-)

Rhonda is having computer issues and it isn't letting her follow up on this. She asked me to pass on her thanks. She is moved by your generosity with pledging this to Tazewell ARC.

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @bex-dk. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @tinypaleokitchen to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Congratulations @tinypaleokitchen! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I rarely end a story; my problem is that I am great at beginning them but often let them slip away before completion. Glad you found my post, this read got pretty intense and that is exactly what I am looking for!

Very happy to resteem this and kudos for donating the SBD to what looks to be a very cool rescue organization. My only suggestion would be to link to Tazewell ARC in your post where you mention them. Much love - Carl

That is, in fact, a great suggestion. Will do tonight. ;-)

Hi @tinypaleokitchen, another suggestion to take or leave as you see fit - you mentioned you were planning future post with similar SBD donation - my suggestion would be to include that info in parenthesis with the post title e.g. "POST TITLE (all SBD reward donated to CHARITYNAME)" or however you want to phrase the exact wording. Of course you want people to like and upvote your content on its own merits, but when you are trying to help out an organization like this I am sure you will get better results if it is obvious from the snippet of the post that is displayed in somebody's feed that there is a charitable donation aspect to the post. I am certain you will get more people to click in to your post in the first place, and probably get more love in the upvotes as well. People like their dogs and cats. Cheers - Carl

Again, top notch idea. Thank you for that.

This made me cry. Big sloppy embarrassing tears. Well done.

You are among peers. Lots of people have cried. I even made myself cry. But fair is fair. You guys all managed to make me blush too. ;-)

Where there is love there is life.

- Mahatma Gandhi

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81