You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meeting me, meeting you

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

My opinion is that happiness is a feeling like any other, it comes and goes. To experience it takes understanding that avoidance of issues does not help, pleasure will never stop depression, just prolongue it further. Take the opportunity here to discover yourself, write, work out what the real issues are. You will likely find it has nothing to do with your circumstances. I am with company now but, if you want to talk more later, you can find me under the same name in steemit.chat

Sort:  

Thanks for the chat invitation brother, i really appreciate it. 3 years ago i graduated from my university then i got placed in some startup company, i worked there for 1 year, meanwhile i fell love with my coworker and we had 1 year of relationship. My boss used to crush on her, he used to ask her to come inside very often to discuss something irrelevant. I asked him why he is doing it, from them he started targeting me, i didn't like and i left the company. Then my gf left me because she wanted to patch up with her ex again. Since then i went to depression for one year, i locked myself in my room and didn't even step out of my home gate for 6 months, i lost interest in doing anything. I was a school topper and the only engineer from my village. People at my village and my parents had so much expectations on me, i broke all of those. My dad started looking at me like an enemy. My relatives judged me like i am a well studied useless person. Since then i become more depressed and lost hopes in everything. In the process i fell in love with another girl and she left me after 10 months. I think that i am in the severe stage of depression. No support from my parents, i don't have any friends too. Feeling like a loner, depressed guy outside of the track. I am trying dead hard to get out of this but nothing is helping me out.

Sorry for the long comment. I can relate this post 100% in my life.

It is hard to give advice here but it you mention girlfriends and bosses coming and going, people's expectations and family abandonment. None of that is you, it is all outside of you. They are not the cause of your depression but, they may be a catalyst. Spend some time understanding yourself without worrying about what others think, really understanding. Stay away from motivation and psychology and instead listen or read something like Awareness by Anthony De Mello. Listen and think, repeat and listen and think and see where it all leads.

The chat offer remains open whenever.

Thank you so much for posting this article brother, it helped me to share what i am going through in my life at present. I will surely follow your suggestion listen and think. I am sure i will reach you out there in the chat, thanks for the offer again.

So sorry to hear about your problems. Thank you for sharing, it touches me.
I hope you can go back to that part in yourself that has nothing to do with all of that, that can forget about the expectations that stress you out. That part that is the real you, the value that you have inside you. Keep searching for that, something that you can bring to the world, not because everybody wants you to, but because that is who you are.
I do hope you can also find some one whom you can talk to about this, and who can maybe help you find that value in yourself. Depression is not something to be taken lightly, and it's very much okay to ask for help in this.
Lately I read the book 'Man's Search for Meaning', it's very short, maybe you can find it somewhere. It's about a man who also lost everything, was a prisoner in a concentration camp, and he talks about how important it is to find what meaning you have. He speaks about his true own experiences. He says that it's not about what life asks you, but what you ask from life. His name, the author's, is Viktor Frankl, I hope maybe reading it helps you a little to find a way to move forward.

Thank you so much for the suggestion. And thanks for your caring words, it really means a lot. I guess that book helps me for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67232.91
ETH 3240.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64