Angels and Humans | Ep08 | Shadows

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

To: Ep07 | Flame

She looked at them both

They both looked at her, bright blue eyes knowing what was to come and dark brown caves looking confused.

They had walked unscathed from the carnage of the café torn apart by the explosion on the bus. Silently they moved through the winding streets of the city, always upward until they reached a large white house.

It was a building of painted concrete and steel and in the twilight of the evening as they had approached, it was reminiscent of a great elephant that had found its way to its final resting place, laid down and let out its last sigh.

As they entered the building, the relatively short, narrow foyer opened onto a landing that was bound by massive panes of glass and a view that took in all the twinkling lights of the city that seemed so far below.

She looked at him

He was adjusting, the long walk had done him some good as she thought it might. It gave him the time to recover from what had happened. The explosion, the reaction, the realisation. He had just found out that he wasn't normal. Not that he had ever really identified himself as normal, normal bored him but, watching normal thinking it was greatness amused him.

She knew he had always thought himself apart from the group, an outsider who would never be part of the in-crowd or be rewarded for his diligence, attention to detail or willingness to do what others would not. She knew he didn't mind this position as an undercurrent in life where he could move largely unseen, unnoticed but still do what he needed to do.

She had watched over him a long time, watched him grow and develop and become a man. One day, people would know his story, the man from the shadows, the ghost in the halls. One day.

She began

"Do you know why you are here?"

"To help with something."

"Yes. Sara invited you to the café for that purpose."

"But.. the explosion.. I never found out what it was..."

"That was why you were there. Just to make sure."

She watched his eyes move

He looked at Sara and Sara looked back at him, the eyes that had transfixed him earlier no longer had the same effect but, in them he could see the blue flame simmering whereas earlier they had burned brightly. He had never noticed it before but wondered if it had always been there and he had just not been looking closely enough. Reality has a way of hiding in plain sight, even from him.

She smiled. It had been a long time, thirty years to the year since she had started this journey and had known from a very early age that fate was knocking at the door. She had seen him many times before he had noticed her in the office as she had tagged along with the Watcher who kept tabs from time to time. She always loved his eyes, even though he himself did not know what lay within them yet.

He watched her unwavering smile that was bordering on a grin and then turned his attention to the other one, the one who Watched. Her skin was of fine porcelain, her lips a gentle pink. she looked young but by her manner, clearly was not. she would have passed for twenty and would have been asked for proof of age buying alcohol, if it was not for her presence. When she looked at him, he felt as if he was in the principle's office as a mischievous boy, but the principle was a deity.

She waited for him to speak

"I have seen you before. When I was young."

That wasn't a question, it was a statement she noted. Even with the confusion of he last few hours, what he had witnessed, done, survived, he was sure of his past observations.

"Yes, that was me. Do you know what we are?"

"Yes, I knew from that first moment I saw your face as they beat me. I watched you watch me as I suffered at their hands. I saw you many times as the two people who one should count on for unconditional love, took pleasure torturing me without mercy. I must thank you."

"What for?"

"I knew if I asked for help you would provide it, I knew that you could save me, take away the pain, protect me if I had but asked. This gave me the strength to not ask. In those times, I learned of human nature, I learned of cruelty, despair, hatred and kindness. Your kindness. If you had stepped in I would never have become me. That is why I am here today."

"Yes."

"You are the protectors, the Angels."

"Yes."

"But, what am I?"

"You will learn soon enough. My name is Evelyn."

He looked at her longer, he pulled in what he could as he had as a child, her light had turned the abuse into a game of shadow puppets. Her expressionless face had drawn him into her green eyes and the distorted and angry faces of his parents had become meaningless to him, a chore he must endure despite the pain inflicted. He looked back at Sara, her smile still present.

"Welcome." She said, as she touched his hand... What was that feeling?

He turned to look to the lights below. Everything had just changed. Finally.

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

To: Ep09 | Adaptation

Sort:  

Evelyn......eve.....mother of all people. Excellent twist....

Thank you so much for reading through, it really adds a lot for me and I am very grateful for your tip also :)

This post was promoted with @monitorcap traffic bot & STEEM promotion service.

Send MIN. $1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field
and recieve upvotes & resteems for your posts. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

This post was promoted with @monitorcap traffic bot & STEEM promotion service.

Send MIN. $1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field
and recieve upvotes & resteems for your posts. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58757.77
ETH 2554.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52