Angels and Humans | Ep05 | FreshsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

To: Ep04 | Crush

She looked down at her

"Why do you watch me?"

"You can see me?"

"Of course. I have seen you here before also."

Interesting. This little girl was no more than a year and a half old yet could already see , already communicate better than any other before her. There is always separation between individuals but overall, most were relatively consistent at such young ages.

She had watched many over the years, lost many too. How many she knew but the numbers had become irrelevant long ago, if numbers are relevant at all. If anything, they are place-markers for events, a way to track movement, much like time itself. Most of them put so much pressure on what little time they have at this point, is it cruel to hide them from the truth, or a necessary evil to prepare them for what awaits?

It was not her place to worry, not that worry was actually something she felt. The concept held true enough, even if the physiology was lacking. Worry is for those that sleep, those that are yet to understand.

"So? Why do you visit me?"

"To keep an eye on you."

"For what purpose? Am I incapable of taking care of myself?"

This was new. Infants rarely had recognition at this point let alone self-awareness of this kind. Did she already know what was to come, who she was? She couldn't possibly of course, a child's innocence is sacred and no place for such sights, let alone the understanding of where it all leads. Even the older children who chanced upon it, caught a glimpse through the keyhole would be ruined. It is how many were lost, or rendered useless.

"What do you mean?"

"If it arrived now, would I be capable?"

"Umm, no."

"You are going to help me get ready?"

"Yes. Do you know what is coming?"

"Not exactly, but I have seen it, I feel it."

How has the child seen such things at this age, why is she not destroyed?

She watched her closely, curiously

The little girl had returned to playing with a soft toy in her crib, a pink rabbit with a green scarfe around it's neck. She looked like every other toddler soft, smooth, pudgy around the middle with cheeks of marshmallow. Her fingers fumbled as she tried to retie the knot she had pulled apart with very little success. Just another child.

She then looked up and the harmlessness disappeared, the innocence inherent in a child fell away and eyes burned with the intense blue of a flame's core. She had only borne witness to this once before and then, like now, she felt the sensation rise. What they would call fear. The eyes soften their burn and lowered their attention back to the toy.

"You best train me well. If I am not ready when it arrives, it won't just be me lost."

"What do you know of it?"

"Nothing. Just the feeling of its approach."

She could feel it too, but she had always been able to, it was part of her, always tied, always present, no matter the distance in time or space. It was coming and it was drawing nearer and quickening its pace like it had never done before.

How can this child see this, feel this and remain calm even in the understanding that she and indeed all may be lost with only her shoulders to carry the burden? These were new questions she had never had to consider before, and before is an eternity. Something has changed, something is different now but this is not the place or movement to look deeper. There is still time albeit lessening.

She looked again, this time in wonderment

"I will go, but before I do."

She bent down and picked up the rabbit and tied the scarfe into a neat tight bow.

"Thank you. Daddy normally does it for me and reminds me I should untie knots I can't do back up."

"Perhaps you should listen to him."

"Perhaps. What you see in my eyes, he sees it too. He doesn't know what it is or what it means but he feels something is coming for me and does his best to prepare me."

"How can he know that?"

"His eyes are open."

She handed the pink bunny back and the tiny hands of a baby took hold and smiled at the toy, giving it a little kiss and holding it close.

"With all that is and will be, I still love this bunny."

Taraz
[ a Steemit original ]

To: Ep06 | Coffee

Sort:  

That child is an old soul. Old souls have seen so much, and just know that they will either survive or die. Strangely neither phases them or scares them. They know that they'll be reborn time and time again.

Very interesting. I don't know exactly how to interpret it.
I get images of a guardian angel but I do not know what exactly it sees in the child's "burning eyes" or what elicits fear in the angel or what the child is privy too (has seen).

The child has been "Awakened" or enlightened perhaps? It has seen the other side - death?

hmm. I'm unsure but its interesting none the less. Gives me something to ponder :)

You will have to wait to see ^^
The core concept of all of my texts is to get people to think about what may or may not be, think in areas they might not usually, to spend some time developing both their critical thought and their imagination. Whether fiction or not, I am trying to get people to do what you have done here, wonder at possibility and what may be done with it.

Thanks for taking the time to both read and comment :)

hahaha one angel still right but other angel looks funny moment...😁😁😁😜😜😜

your posts are very good to see and learn. @tarazkp
your hard work is good inpirasi

This post was promoted with @monitorcap traffic bot & STEEM promotion service.

Send MIN. $1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field
and recieve upvotes & resteems for your posts. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58572.58
ETH 2551.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47