Terrors of the Night (Numb, Part 4)

in #fiction7 years ago

Picture


Surprise, I was a bit faster than expected and can give you a proper post right now!


Read Part 1, Part 2, Part 3

Blood. Blood everywhere. On my hands, my clothes, in my face. So much blood.

I stare at the lifeless body on the floor around which the blood is pooling into a large puddle. Suddenly, the victim turns his head to look me straight in the eye. It’s my father.

”You left the part of logic”, he says. ”You are not worthy to be considered my daughter anymore.”

Then he jumps up and lunges at me, grabbing me by my shoulders.

”You need to die!” He cries while violently shaking me.

”Stop!” I call out in terror. ”Stop, please, I’m sorry, it’s not my fault, please stop! STOP!”

”Wake up. Hey, wake up! It’s okay, it’s just a dream. It’s alright!”

I open my eyes and see Eir sitting on the edge of my bed, her hands placed on my shoulders, lightly shaking me.

Everything is wet. I hope it’s just sweat.

”You were screaming your lungs out in your sleep”, Eir says. ”You woke me up, I was worried that somebody had broken in and was hurting you. Did you have a nightmare?”

”Why would someone break in?” I ask. Crime had been eradicated together with emotions a long time ago. To my disappointment, Eir simply ignores the question. Instead she hands me the glass of water that I had placed on my nightstand before I had gone to bed. @suesa
”Drink”, she says. ”It should help you calm down a bit.”

I take the water and take tiny sips. The images from the nightmare are still fresh in my head.

”I dreamt of that day when killed … when I escaped the hospital.” It’s almost impossible for me to think about the incident, let alone talk about it. ”It wasn’t the first time, I’ve had trouble sleeping all week. But this time, my father appeared in it. He tried to kill me.”

Eir pulls me into her arms and starts stroking my head.

”Was your father important to you when you still lived at home?” She asks with a gentle voice.

”I don’t know? Probably? He gave me his genetic material, kept me fed and helped me study the right things so I could pursue the correct career. He fulfilled his assigned purpose. Does that make him important to me?”

”Maybe. You might not have been aware, but there probably were some emotions left while you were growing up. The process of blocking all emotions isn’t as successful as they want us to believe.”

”It isn’t?” I’m slightly taken aback by this revelation. I had always believed that the process was perfect. Then again, how perfect can it be when it’s this easy to permanently reverse everything?

”No, it isn’t perfect”, Eir says. ”It never was and it might never be. The brain is a complex thing, it’s very good at healing itself. That’s why additionally to the chemical methods, they use conditioning to stomp out all emotions. I won’t deny it’s effective, it really is, but there will always be some leftover emotions, especially through early childhood. I suppose those emotions are now slowly coming through and the pain they bring is combined with your recent trauma.”

”That sucks.” I pout.

”Yes, it does. But you will get through this, I promise. Most of us went through it.”

”Only most?”

Suddenly, Eir looks like she wants to bite off her own tongue.

”I meant all of us, of course.”

”No, you didn’t!” I free myself from her embrace and move away from her. ”You clearly said most, that’s not a mistake one just makes. What are you hiding from me?”

”I can’t tell you, not yet. You’re not ready.”

”How am I supposed to ever be ready when you people are constantly leaving me in the dark?” I’m pissed. ”First Lucifer, now you! First, he drags me into this mess, then brings me here and says something ominous about killing God. But when I wanted him to clarify, he just winked and then told you to take me in. He basically threw me out! Without explaining what is going on!”

”I understand that you’re angry, but you need to learn to control this kind of emotional outbreaks.”

”Are you kidding me? I’ve been forced to control my emotions my whole life! Emotions I didn’t even know I had! Your people brought them back to the surface without even asking for my consent and now you are telling me to control my emotional outbreaks? You can’t be serious!”

”Having emotions is not the same as being controlled by them”, Eir points out. The condescending tone of her voice makes me want to punch her. ”That’s why you can’t know everything yet. You need to learn how to handle your emotions first. You’re of no use to us if you’re exactly the thing God and his people warn everyone about.”

”Who is this God you’re talking about? He’s obviously not part of any religion, that primitive kind of worship has ended long ago too.”

”No, he’s human. Kind of. He’s the one behind all of it.”

”What do you mean by that?”

”The emotion blockers. God and his team are the ones who created it and advertised it as the next step in human evolution.”

”But that happened almost 200 years ago!”

”So?”

”It can’t still be the same person.”

”Why not?”

I look at her in complete disbelief. Is she serious?

”Because nobody can live that long!”

”How do you know that?”

”Human life expectancy is about 50 years, everybody knows that. We learn it at school!”

”And who decides what is taught in the schools? Who writes the books?” Eir stands up from my bed and walks towards the door. ”Did you know that people used to live to the age of 70, 80, even 90 and 100 not too long ago?”

She doesn’t give me a chance to answer and instead walks through the door, leaving me alone in the dark once again.


Picture taken from pixabay.com


Got a scientific topic which you want to see as a story? Leave me a comment!
You want to support scientists on Steemit? You are a scientist on Steemit? Join the #steemSTEM channel on steemit.chat and connect with us!
STEM is an acronym for Science, Technology, Engineering and Math

SteemStem

Monster GIF was made for me by @saywha and @atopy

Sort:  

I'm a bit concerned that nobody seems to actually be acting for the good of the individuals here! both sides seem to be concerned for their 'Cause' and sod the consequences! Where are the good guys! Again, its very close to the bone, you are brilliant at pointing out the downfalls of both religion and science here. Ethics don't seem to come into play with either side's actions...

It is beautifully written.
"I'm a bit concerned that nobody seems to actually be acting for the good of the individuals here! both sides seem to be concerned for their 'Cause' and sod the consequences! Where are the good guys?"
To me, it seems to me a lot like Facebook and twitter and the twisted social media.

Wait... what?! Just this? The suspense is unbearable! 😦😦
So many questions! I feel like our protagonist. Whose I only just realised we actually don't know.

Damn, Suesa... you're good!

When you read a story and you can't still figure out the next step because everything is still in the dark and suspense is killing you! :D

I could feel the intensity. Not sure of the genre, but
you succeeded in bringing a bit of an andrenaline into the story. This is truly thrilling @suesa, good story here

The genre is whatever I want it to be :D (usually science fiction)

Hahaha also you know you will do an amazing job writing fantasy and horror😀😀😀

Why not mix everything? Fuck genres!

Of course damn the genres! 🙌🙌🙌🙌 lol you write really good

Another great story...

Love to read your post ...
Thank's for sharing

ooo i havent read the first parts yet, i nearly started reading! ill go see those first, i'll be back! :D

Yes, avoid spoiling yourself :P

I'm going for Lucifer not having any emotions.

Someone can pay me 100SBD if I'm right.

Do I get 100 SBD if you're wrong?

Well if the someone is willing to pay then yes.

I'm too smart to give in my money, as I have a hunch you might be able to affect the story on some level.

I would never influence the story in any way!! :P

Of course not.

I remember a joke regarding unfair bets :D

A Finn and a Swede went to a western movie. In a scene where the hero tries to sneak on an indian, the Swede says to the Finn "I bet you 50€ that the indian will win". The Finn agreed. It turns out the hero successfully sneaks upon the indian and knocks him unconscious.

After the movie, the Swede gives the Finn 50€ as agreed on. The Finn feels a bit ashamed and tells the Swede "I can't take this, I kind of cheated because I have seen the movie before."
"So have I, but I did really believe the indian would have learned from the last time!" replied the Swede.

Interesting

Thanks for the spam.

😂😂😂
Savage

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.96
ETH 2649.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58