A Jellyfish's Life

in #fiction7 years ago

Picture

Disclaimer: This is a parody of A Sea Turtle's Life, thanks to @biuiam

I float. And I float, and I float and I float.

Oh, a shrimp! I stun the shrimp with my toxin. And I float and I float and I float.
Another jellyfish floats by. We float together. Or is it another jellyfish? Might be a plastic bag.

A sea turtle swims past me and eats the jellyfish-plastic-bag thing. I float past.
And I float.

I'm an adult now. A male jellyfish floats by. We release sperm and eggs into the water. They will combine and larvae will come to life. They will bury themselves into the ground and grow, let go of the ground as different larvae and finally become a jellyfish too.

And they will float and float and float, together with me.


Sources:

Jellyfish life cylce
What do Jellyfish eat
Jellyfish Predators
The Danger of Plastic Bags

Sort:  

I was waiting for it to joyfully float and burn the leg or arm of a poor little child in the water, reflecting happily on its reaction as it yells!

It would make a lot of sense though, I'm sure all jellyfishes are psychopaths :P

I have been a fan of your writing for a little while now and have a fascination with jellyfish after my trip to vietnam (so your picture suckered me in ;-) ).
We saw lots of different species of jellyfish in HaLong Bay.

I definitely thought that there would have been some kind of evil twist where the jellyfish stung someone in which they then turned into a... zombie or something else 'horrific'. :-)

Up-Yunk 4 You.

Man a jellyfishs life is awesome.
Chilling arround, releasing sperm, chilling arround.
Dream

Hahahaha, omg, you actually turned this into a post, let me write one too haha
#suesa-shitpost nice tag lol

https://steemit.com/fiction/@biuiam/re-suesa-s-a-jellyfish-s-life-parody-with-science-of-course

done, to keep the fun going haha, next time I might write about sharks, just to keep the food chain going haha

You call them jellyfish, I call them floating nope-nopes.

The story is funny and interesting, causing me to laugh while reading, but I like your posts. @suesa

A good short story
I do not think the crown is the head of the head.
Of course right from the crown to proliferate into a crown.
Just as fish breed into fish again.
Except for the plastic crown floating in the water, it must be plastic as well. Because the plastic of inanimate objects does not breed. thanks for sharing.

Sounds like a peaceful existence. Do you believe when that life force passes then it's put into another moment of life?

I don't know and as a scientist, I don't like basing my views on beliefs :P but it's nice to think that we don't vanish completely after death

Reminds me of a first draft of those Crabby and Nabby books

Very good story .. this story reminds me when I go to school, my teacher mother told me about biology, the title is about breeding the living creature and adapting to the environment.

What can I say? They might as well be jaws cause they keep me out of the waters!!! 🐓🐓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54180.99
ETH 2273.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35