Mystery of the Coronation Sword Act One

in #fiction7 years ago

If this is the first section you are seeing, please read Mystery of the Coronation Sword Character List. I hope you have fun figuring out this mystery!!! Remember, since this was written as a mystery dinner you are receiving it in play form

Queen: You have all been summoned here tonight- Royal and Commoner- to correct a grave error on the part of some unfortunate soul. As you know, my son has come of age and circumstances being what they are, the royal advisors feel he should ascend to the throne even though the King still lives.

King: Hey look it’s a party, let’s dance.

Queen: No Sire, it’s not a party. We are looking for Lightning Blade, your sword.

King: Oh a hunt! How fun. (Gets up and starts wandering around the room as if searching for something).
Queen: (sigh) As each of you give your account, consider your words carefully. Falsehood will cost valuable time I do not have and may also cost your life. Harold, sit down! Since His Majesty is keeper of the sword and the realm, we will hear his account first. Sire-

King: Yes, dear?

Queen: The sword?

King: Did you find my sword?

Queen: No Your Majesty. Please honor us by telling us about the last time you saw the sword.

King: I saw it yesterday.

Queen: Yesterday?! Where?

King: I was sitting on my royal throne admiring it and noticed a jewel was coming lose. I had the Royal Messenger fix it.

Royal Messenger: That was six weeks ago Your Majesty.

Queen: Messenger! Did you fix Lightning Blade’s stone?

Royal Messenger: No your Highness, but I did take the sword to the Blacksmith to be repaired.

Queen: Go on

Royal Messenger: The king summoned me and said the jewels were coming off of the sword and to fix it. Not being handy myself, I asked the Royal Chef who would fix the Royal sword. I was told the only one who could work on the sword was the heir of the man who forged it. I took the sword to the Blacksmith and left it to be repaired.

Queen: You left the Royal Sword with no guard?!

Blacksmith: Begging your pardon Your Majesty, but the sword needed no guard with me. My family forged that sword before the beginning of your noble family’s reign and I am a sworn craftsman. Our job is to maintain the sword. I would venture to say that the guard was needed in the castle, Majesty. The stones, though still intact, had been pried lose from the swords hilt as if someone had tried to steal them.

Queen: Do not think that your impudence has gone un-noticed Blacksmith, but I require more information from you. Pray tell, what sort of object do you think was used to pry the stones?

Blacksmith: It wasn’t a particularly sharp object, nor was it completely solid. It was a pronged instrument from the marks I saw…perhaps a kitchen fork?

Queen: What happened to the sword once you completed your work?

Blacksmith: I returned it to the castle, Your Majesty. As a Commoner I am not allowed to approach the front entrance to the castle so I took the sword to the back entrance to the kitchen. The cook took the sword, tossed it in the corner and gave me a cookie for my trouble. I have yet to receive payment for my services, Majesty.

King: There are cookies? Where?

Queen: Chef, what have you to say for yourself?

King: Yes Chef, what have you to say about there being no cookies?

Royal Chef: Your Highness, I will have cookies for you as soon as this inquiry is over. As for the sword, I was in the middle of fixing her Highness’ favorite meal when the Blacksmith appeared- and could not risk destroying my work. After I had finished making the meal, the Royal Food Taster came in and did her duty. The Royal Messenger lumbered through baring packages to be delivered to the King of the Singing Mountains and the Princess came in and dined with the staff. I don’t recall seeing the sword again. I noticed it was gone when I was cleaning crumbs out of the corner.

King of the Singing Mountains: My daughter dines with the staff?! What sort of place sends the heir to the throne of the Singing Mountains to dine with the staff? This is an outrage!

Princess: No Papa. They don’t force me to dine with the staff. I prefer the company.

Queen: Where the Princess dines is not the issue here. It does, however, show that the Princess was in close proximity to the sword.

King of the Singing Mountains: First, you lose track of your own national symbol and claim to honor and power. Then, you can’t keep track of one Princess to make sure decorum is observed and now you accuse her of stealing your sword? Perhaps my daughter is correct and war is preferable to marriage in the case.

Princess: Father, wait.

Royal Food Taster: Your Majesty, though I do not wish for war with my home, I agree that you should not force your daughter to marry our Prince. He is a cruel man.

Queen: Silence! How dare you speak badly of your Prince! Royal Food Taster, you were in the kitchen when Lightning Blade was there, what is your knowledge of the events?

Royal Food Taster: You’re Highness; I came in and tasted the work of the Royal Chef as usual. When the Princess came in, I remained. I enjoy discourse with the Princess because she is wise and kind; much like our own dear King. I attest that neither the Princess nor I are at fault, because we were in deep conversation at the table. I have no idea what was happening outside of our little circle.

Queen: It seems you need to learn your place, Royal Food Taster, but this is a matter for another time. Do not think I will forget like the King tends to do.

Royal Food Taster: I will pay for my insolence, I am sure, but I will make it worth the effort. The Princess is miserable and the Prince does not deserve such a fine young lady. If I must pay with my head, I will. Anything is worth stopping such an injustice.

Queen: Including stealing the sword?

Royal Food Taster: I am not as wise as some among us. Had I thought of the plan, yes, I would have taken it. Alas, such a plan did not occur to me I am sorry to say.

Princess: The Royal Food Taster is so kind. As much as I dislike it here, I will be honest with the Queen. Your Majesty, I did take the sword and I sent it by your Royal Messenger to my Father. The Messenger did not know what he was carrying. My Father called my gift a desperate act by an immature girl and sent it back by the same messenger. That was two months ago and the entire thing happened prior to the recent disappearance. Lightning blade was back in place and handled by the king after my act of treachery.

Queen: You ungrateful wench!

King of the Singing Mountains: I would stay your words, Queen. Poor though her behavior may have been, your sword was returned. I could have claimed your land as my own. I suggest you deal with the issue at hand and leave my unruly daughter to me.

King: Yes, Margaret. The Princess is a darling child and deserves the forgiveness of the crown, not the ire. It seems you have others to talk with in this matter and I suggest you do so quickly as the fate of our kingdom is at stake. Oh….look how pretty! (Picks up something off of the table)

Queen: Speaking of pretty, that is quite a lovely jewel you are playing with Crown Jeweler. Would that be one of mine?

Crown Jeweler: Oh well uh, I was in the middle of creating a new masterpiece for you when this meeting was called. I must have walked out with it.

Queen: Do you often just walk out with my Jewels? Or would you possibly just walk out with the coronation sword?

Crown Jeweler: I, like the King; have become a bit forgetful, Your Majesty, but I would not purposely take your jewels and I would not dare touch the coronation sword.

Apothecary: Oh Please!! You have a new bobble on every time I see you. I don’t think she keeps them but she certainly puts the jewels to good use- and you told me the other day how if you could get your hands on Lightning Blade you could be a Queen yourself!

Crown Jeweler: It was just talk your Majesty!! I would never steal anything from you. Yes I have made a few pieces and worn them out to various events but every last jewel is accounted for and I have records! Maybe the Apothecary would like me to tell some of her secrets!

End of Act One

If you are enjoying the story, please upvote and follow!

Sort:  

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

Congratulations @sabtksb! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56709.98
ETH 2329.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37