The Lottery Council Chapter III: Back To Work

in #fiction7 years ago

11.jpg

When Jim returned to work the next day he stopped by his cubicle to find it empty... all his stuff had been moved. His former supervisor stopped by to offer her congratulations.

"Well, Mr. Vice President, I hope you won't forget all of us little people now that you're rich and famous," she said with a laugh.

"I'm still not sure I believe it myself," said Jim, "It still seems like a dream."

"Well, you deserve it, I'm glad to have worked with you."

Jim said his goodbyes and headed off to the elevators. When he got to his new office there was a very professional woman in her late 30's or early 40's seated outside. She arose and extended her hand.

"I'm Sarah McKinnon, your assistant. If there's anything you need just let me know. We took the liberty of moving your things up here yesterday and there's an envelope from Mr. Masters on your desk.. He said he'd like to see you later this morning around 10:30."

"Thanks," he said and went into his office. He tore the envelope and inside was a letter and four prescriptions. The letter read: Jim, these prescriptions are for you and your family; please keep this under your hat. The drug, Batchagon, is a new anti-cancer drug that has cleared testing but due to the expense, isn't available to the public yet. Hence the need for secrecy- if it got out there would be a rush. It seems to be 100% effective and completely safe, but until they can get the manufacturing costs down it's only available on a very limited basis. Your company insurance will cover the cost in its entirety. -Leyland. PS. Just one of the perks of being on the council, see you at 10:30.

When Jim went for his meeting, he found Leyland waiting. "These are the sales numbers, for the last 3 quarters. I'd like you to look at them, Jim, numbers being your forte, and see what we can do to get these numbers up."

"I've already seen these numbers when I was downstairs and I can tell you what needs to be done." Leyland was all ears. "You're going about this all wrong," Jim said.

"How so?" Leyland looked over the tops of his glasses.

"You need to approach this from a demographic perspective. Break the map down according to demographics, age, income, racial makeup etc. Clearly the insurance needs of an area that is primarily elderly has different needs than younger middle-income families. Older people have their homes paid for so their coverage needs to reflect that. You should tailor packages according to demographic requirements."

Leyland was impressed. "I knew I made the right choice promoting you Jim."

"It's really simple," said Jim, "If you want to know what to do, ask the guy that actually does the work. I could never understand layers of middle management whose job seems to be sitting around making the wrong decisions. Like I said, my philosophy is ask the guy that does the job."

Leyland stood and they shook hands. "Get out of here," he said, "before I send you back downstairs where you're some good to me." He laughed.

When he got home, Ann was waiting. "So," she said eyebrow arched, "what's this new secretary look like?"

"Remember Pamela Anderson?" Jim asked.

"Yes."

"Well, she looks nothing at all like her," Jim laughed. "You have nothing to worry about."

"I know," said Ann, "I just wanted to see what you would say."

https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-lottery-council-introduction
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-lottery-council-chapter-i-seminar
https://steemit.com/fiction/@richq11/the-lottery-council-chapter-ii-elation

badge.pngicross.jpg
pow.png

Sort:  

Waiting patiently for more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 56904.92
ETH 2440.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37