The Lottery Council- Chapter II: ElationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fiction7 years ago

11.jpg

Jim practically ran all the way to his car... he couldn't wait to get home and tell Ann the news. He could almost see her face, eyebrow arched and arm folded across her chest. She had the cutest way of arching one eyebrow and folding her arms across her chest when she was suspicious of something. On his way home he thought back to when they had first met. He couldn't believe his good luck.

Ann was the prettiest girl in school- at least Jim thought so and he wasn't alone, she was popular as well. When he tried to talk to her- they were in the 9th grade- he began to stammer uncontrollably. She arched her eyebrow and looked directly at him: "Are you trying to ask me out?" she asked with a bemused smile.

"I... I guess so," he stammered.

"Well, are you are aren't you?" She was having fun with him now. Her eyebrow was still arched, arms folded across her chest. She began tapping her foot impatiently.

"Y- yes," was all he could manage.

"Call me up tonight, I'm in the book. My dad's name is David." They've been together ever since. All through high school and then college. They got married just after graduation. Ann had never regretted her decision.

Jim burst through the door as if in a panic. Ann was standing in the middle of the room vacuuming. Her eyebrow arched and she asked, "What are you doing home now, aren't you supposed to be at work?"

"You're not going to believe this, " he said drawing himself up to his full height, "you're looking at the new Senior VP of Marketing. I just came from a meeting with Leyland... Mr. Masters, who said to take the rest of the day off while they get my stuff moved upstairs. And... it comes with a big fat raise!"

"You're right, I don't believe you," she said laughing, "What brought all this about?"

"Something about that lottery thing. Leyland- that's what he told me to call him- said they've had their eye on me for a while now. I got the promotion and an appointment to the council." Jim was practically beside himself with excitement. "Now we can get that new car and maybe even move."

"Hold on, Mr. Vice President," she said. "What's this council thing and what's it got to do with the promotion?"

"I'm not really sure yet. Leyland kinda explained it. They're trying to do away with cancer and they have a lot of drugs that are ready for human testing... they're pretty sure they work. Of course there are a lot more people than they have the drugs for, so, to make sure they get to the people who really need them instead of just rich people, they started this lottery council thing. They're really expensive so the government is underwriting the cost and a bunch of organizations are helping out. I help pick who gets the drugs"

"OK," she said, "but what about work?"

"I don't really know about all that yet, but they're related. Leyland is regional director of the council." Jim gathered her up in his arms and kissed her passionately. "How long before the kids get home?"

"Hold on mister," Ann laughed, "I've got housework to do."

"It can wait." He picked her up and headed for the bedroom. Their life was about to change forever.!

badge.pngicross.jpg

pow.png

Sort:  

house work can ALWAYS wait LOL

Absolutely! I didn't want to get too graphic I thought I'd leave a little to the imagination... it's not THAT kind of story!

yup. graphic is good in context; definitely not needed every time sex is brought up in a story!

Excellent work as usual, to read your stories it's always a pleasure for me ^_^

Thanks... This is really hard to write... Like I said before I don't do normal lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55326.60
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32