You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mini writing workshop - What is magical realism?

in #fiction6 years ago

What a great exploratory post about one of my fav genres.

I absolutely love magic realism... and write in that genre loads. My latest story for themarkymarks writing contest is most definitely MR.

The author I enjoy most in the genre is Haruki Murakami. His flowing prose, set in modern day Japan with a surreal Kafka-esque undercurrent, is sublime. 1Q84 is a trilogy of his which is well worth a read and an absolute master piece of magic realism.

Sorry to mention this but I caught a typo in your article.

7th paragraph:

The first thing I was wrong about was the that magical realism is the same as fantasy.

Hope you're well @jayna
I'm missing the excitement of travel and wistful memories of Steemfest 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

That’s so neat to hear, @raj808! I’m glad you shared your favorite author. I will add that trilogy to my recommended reading list. And I would love to read one of your magical realism pieces.

Yes I think so often of that wonderful week in Krakow. I was such a magical time. It still warms my heart to remember all the people we met, the great activities, sessions and amazing conversations, not to mention the incredible day at the concentration camp, as difficult as it was. Could it only have been a few months ago? To Steemfest 4!

Thank you so much for catching my typo. I write so much and try to proof everything, but it’s easy to miss your own mistakes. I welcome your watchful eye!

Posted using Partiko iOS

No worries on the typo, I do the same and it is always with prepositions like 'the', 'than', 'at' etc

They are the easiest to have a brain fart over lol

And I would love to read one of your magical realism pieces.

In regards to that, I think that this one I wrote 6 months ago is the best magic realism I have written on steem :-)

https://steemit.com/celfchallenge/@raj808/the-albatross-short-story

It's a bit long though ;-) The one I wrote a week ago is much shorter at 800 words but not as good an example of the genre.

such a magical time. It still warms my heart to remember all the people we met, the great activities, sessions and amazing conversations, not to mention the incredible day at the concentration camp, as difficult as it was.

Yeah I feel the same and am currently getting my hustle on to see if I can afford to travel to the dtubeforum in Barcelona in may. The piggy bank may have to be emptied :-)

Darn piggy banks! They do tend to run try when travel is involved. When they finally invent time machines I’m going to go back and do everything differently in my 20’s and 30’s where fiscal matters are concerned!

Thank you for the links to your stories. Much appreciated. I will definitely read them.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ha ha. Give me a time machine now and I'd go back teen years and buy 10000 BTC at $0.05 😂

A friend of mine advised me to buy some then and I didn't. He mined a load and has paid off his mortgage and retired early. Grrrr lucky bigger 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

I think many of us have similar missed opportunities in our past. Mine was the opportunity to go work for Google back in the early days. They were hiring like mad, but just as I was going to explore that opportunity I received an offer from another startup. Oh well! I try not to live in regret! I have a great life. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62881.38
ETH 2449.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62