Product Placement - Original Short Story

in #fiction5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Product Placement - Original Short Story


Find this post on Hive commmunity run blockchain.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

That brought a tear. Love the tone you impart. When we visited Denmark this summer, I noticed they don't have peanut butter, either.

Yeah, the story from the grandmother character about the dance and the peanut butter is true. She must have told me that story a hundred times. It frustrated me at the time but now I miss hearing her tell the stories that I could recite from heart. I did add some details that aren't true to make it plot-worthy. She did get given peanut butter by a GI but didn't bury it. She also did love the adverts, and when I was a kid she'd do like a running commentary 🤣

But I never became an advertising executive... That was pure fiction.

When we visited Denmark this summer, I noticed they don't have peanut butter, either.

Yeah, I think it's a very American thing. And we have it in the UK, and have for years. Since after the war, when the American service men introduced it.

I'm glad you enjoyed the story @geke, the tear to the eye is the best praise the story could get. That's definitely what I was aiming for, a sort of nostalgic sadness.

Posted using Partiko Android

What a great story!
Have you tried pubishing an anthology of your short stories?
@felt-buzz, godfather of the #5minuteFreewrite, is on his third now, right, Bruce?
(Did you meet at the last Steemfest, perchance?)

Hi Carol.

Glad you enjoyed the story :)

Have you tried pubishing an anthology of your short stories?

Nah, I'm trying to get some more published to online journals/literary anthologies rather than going self publishing route. I have to be honest, I'm at the point (health-wise) where I need to consider taking on less work not more. From all of my research self publishing means extra cost and extra work.

I have spoken to felt-buzz and was meant to write a sci-fi story for the last steemfiction anthology, but had to pull out due to both health issues and other (none steem) deadlines. I was a little disappointed with myself over that but there was little I could do at the time.

We didn't meet at steemfest.

Awwwwww!
Sorry you're not in the anthology and that you didn't get to meet Bruce (felt-buzz) at Steemfest. You're both in the UK, as I recall, which is not a very big land masss, so maybe you'll cross paths another way.
You're too young to be unwell! I really do wish you well, and soon.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56953.07
ETH 2513.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28