Closed In, A 50 Word Story for @jayna

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Closed In

Coast-Beach-Sea-Atmosphere-Romantic-Fantasy-2615983 (1).jpg

There was a bang the likes of which would have convinced your dead grandma to get up and whack your ruckus-making hide. They did that in her day. Lots.

"Run," echoed the voice through the darkness.

Run? Where do you run when the universe has closed in on you?

...

Image Attribution
Closed In is copyright Pryde Foltz

Sort:  

Always a fan of darker stuff, especially when you've left it nicely open-ended as to what we should be running from here. Could run the gamut from sci-fi to some internal struggle. Great little story!

Thank you, Negativer. I tend to 'run' dark with these brief writes. Now the challenge will be to lighten it up:)

Fascinating scenario... and illustrated with a cool image!

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you, Creatr. Your visit and kinds words are much appreciated:)

Woohoo! Great, Pryde!

Thank you, zeleira:)

Makes me think 'big bang', although perhaps this time, in reverse! Seems quite dark for you - I like seeing this other side to your writing. As far reaching and other worldly as ever :)

Thank you, Lazarus. Something like that. Fifty word stories tend to lend themselves better to the dark I think. Mostly because there isn't too much space to build character investment and so playing on fear is more effective. Anyways that is what I think:)

I'm new here and really happy that the fifty words prompts are one of the first things I stumbled upon. I absolutely love this! Fave thing I've read so far <3

Thank you, BlueTeddy. Be sure to join in:)

Hi @ prydefoltz. Great story! I'm dying to know what the threat is. Oh my gosh, I love this:

There was a bang the likes of which would have convinced your dead grandma to get up and whack your ruckus-making hide.

I am very sorry for the slow response. I need to recover my @jayna account, and currently am posting as @jaynas-minime. (I described the situation here.) Hopefully I will be back as the real me soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64725.57
ETH 3184.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54