What if you could pause time? ( short story )

in #fiction7 years ago

What if you could pause time?

We all dance through life one way or the other. We face good times, bad times, sad times and painful times. We struggle and we climb, we fall down in the deepest pits of despair and we find our way back into the comforting arms of those we love. We hate with a passion and we grow bonds never to be broken. But what if ...

What if you could pause time? What if you were given the option to stop time long enough to reflect? Would you use that option? Would you take a chance in seeing what you could have done differently? Would you push the button to see what your future would look like? 


A woman looks up deep into my storming eyes without seeing. No matter how hard she tries she can't seem to find focus in them. Her hand is trying to touch my flesh but again, she is not able to find a spot she can hold on to. My words, however, she can hear and feel just like the strong grip I am having on her whole being. Some might think I like the struggle she is having. Others, who have a more open mind may feel like I am playing tricks on them. But I am not, I am just me, the one thing you can't get a hold on. 

Tears tell me so many stories, all of them could be written into a book. Screams do not hurt my ears but I feel them being in pain. I have seen it all, felt it all, went through it all. I am everything yet I am nothing. If given the chance, would you comfort the wounded soldiers on the fields? Would you carry their bruised, broken and shattered bodies away from the place where poppy flowers will bloom? If given the opportunity would you stop the bombs from falling, the darkness from rising? Would you go back into the past and fix the things broken? Would travel into the future to see what lays hidden for all others? 


A male carefully tries to hide for me and all others because he thinks he is smart enough to do so. He lives in the illusion that I won't be able to touch his pitch black soul to bring him where he belongs. Would he, if given the chance, live his life in a different way? Would he not pull the trigger but lift up the little girl and hold her in his strong arms? Would he give life instead of taking it? Would he stop running if he knew the true meaning of my being? What if I would give him the option to pause his life and sit down, watch his murdering past, his bloody hands, would it make a difference? 

I see a fourteen-year-old wrestle on the floor with a boy half his size. I see the anger in his eyes and feel the hatred beating in his heart. I have seen him shout, kick and bully others for years. If given the chance, would he know how much he is destroying? Would he offer his hand instead of his blaming fist? Would he finally stand up against his abusive father and stop delegating his own pain to others? Would he find the strength hidden so deep inside him to do good instead of wrong? Would he know that his cry for help is the wrong cry? 


I touch the wrinkled skin of the old lass, laying in her bed. The nurse just left and covered her body with a blanket after closing her eyes for the last time. My fingers brush over her soul to comfort her with healing memories of her long life. If given the option, would she go through it all again? Would she face the truth about her own mistakes? Would she have kept the baby who grew inside her belly? Would she be a mom instead of listening to those who told her she would become an unfit mother? Would she stand up against her wealthy family who would have disowned her for having this baby? Would she pick love over money? Would she change everything so she would not die alone? 


I have looked deep into the eyes of liars. Those who play tricks upon minds to get what they want. The cheaters who never have enough and always want more. I see them all, I know it all and I do wonder..... 

Would they see what they have lost? Would they change to become a better person knowing what I know? 


You might wonder by now who I am.... But there is not a simple way to answer your question. I am rushed when you look back. I am short when you are not ready. I am painful if there is not enough. I am there yet I am not.....

But i'll always catch up with you no matter what.


who am I? 


I am time....



Sort:  

OMG Babe!
This is the greatest post you have ever done (that I've seen).
What a brilliant piece of work @poeticsnake
❤️❤️

Thank you handsome! You made me blushhhhh <3 <3

If given the chance, would you comfort the wounded soldiers on the fields? Would you carry their bruised, broken and shattered bodies away from the place where poppy flowers will bloom? If given the opportunity would you stop the bombs from falling, the darkness from rising?

You already know why this particular passage moved me to tears.

Such a powerful piece, @poeticsnake! Thank you for sharing it with me. I even answered the "Who am I?" before you gave the answer! :P What inspired you to characterize time like this?

Thank you so so much!
I just looked at the picture and for some reason it came to me like this.
I have my moments I guess.
I knew you would be touched by those lines <3

This was a beautiful story about time. Thank you for sharing. :)

Thank you ever so kindly! Thank you for reading and replying :D

You are most welcome and again it was a beautiful story. :)

I really liked your writing. (the following can be edited out if you feel it is spam) I have been doing a small steemag called Astounding Steemit Stories I wanted to let you know that I have included a short profile of you in issue 11.

Thank you so much! Not spam at all, I feel blessed and honored to be there!

I like to read. I found a few others that like to read to, so I try to share what I find, and thought my little mag may help spread the words of the storytellers. It is I who am honored, your sharing is the real treasures we find.

Awesome post to start my day with, thank you.

Thank you ever so kindly

Nice post

Thank you

Love this, Awesome post

Thank you so so much

@driva has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

This is a powerful piece, forcing the reader into introspective questioning of one's own motives and actions. I think many would take advantage of such powers, I certainly would. I would go further, now, than I have ever gone before and roll back time to change some terrible mistakes that have dogged me over the years, regardless of the future consequences of such meddling.
Loved it.

@poeticsnake - this piece of writing is marvellous!
Just from the way you wrote it I guessed you were writing about time. I felt satisfied in my own acumen but more in your ability to convey the message.
I have to put together my hands and show big love for you 👏🏾
You are a skilled writer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58098.46
ETH 3134.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38