You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Just Beneath the Skin (Short Story) - Finish The Story Week 67

in #fiction5 years ago

Nice! I love what you did with the gurgling flapping thing next to the bed but out of her sight. And she has a snout! love this. I could not come up with anything for this, although I had become a bit obsessed with @tristancarax's 31 sentence story.

Sort:  

Thanks @owasco... I did like this story ending but I think it might have suffered a little from me trying to adhere to the word count. I think I edited it down from about 890 words to the 700 in the end. Some essential details got lost in the edit I think.

But sometimes I think a good story can be like this, where you can populate some of the happenstances with your own imagination lol.

And she has a snout! love this.

For example, this was meant to indicate that Clara White was turning into a kind of Lizard/Human hybrid, along with the recurring use of the neodymium lamp (the type of lamp that is used in pet lizard enclosures to mimic sunlight), I wanted her to be a mutation with lizard DNA because various lizard species can regrow limbs which fits in with the idea that she'd recovered from organ failures.

To be honest though, I think all of this was far too subtle to be fully effective. This is the great thing about these types of writing exercises, learning is a life-long thing :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66779.99
ETH 3503.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70