You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fire On The Bayou - Part 1

in #fiction7 years ago

I really enjoy how much color you lend to the environment and setting in your stories. Whenever you write, I can picture the setting and the character's actions in near-perfect detail, to the extent that when they speak or think something, it seems naturally-occurring and part of who or what they are.

Oh yeah, and Vincent is badass. Doesn't take no shit from nobody. That's cool, too.

Sort:  

That's part of how my writing process goes. If it doesn't feel right, it's not right, and I have to try to figure out what the character actually did instead of what I thought they did. It's why my writing takes a while, because I've sat in front of a word document for an hour before trying to work out where I went wrong because it feels wrong on an instinctual level. I know when I'm not telling the story right, or not "relaying the events as they happened." It's weird, but I can't write any other way, because that's the way it happened and I have to tell the truth.

So far as Vincent goes, I actually based him off of Mad Max. The Road Warrior version, specifically, but I wanted to do something with that type of character, and he very quickly got out of hand and became his own thing, which is how I know I'm doing it right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59027.47
ETH 2528.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47