A FlashFiction Christmas in 2050

in #fiction7 years ago

I recently discovered Flash Fiction and I'm somewhat enamored with the idea. So this is my first try at Flash Fiction. I was successful in paring it down to the shortest length it needed to cram in all of the elements I wanted to include, but this made it too short for the Christmas Day in 2050 Contest, not to mention it's not a journal entry. And it has more dialog than any of the Flash Fiction I've read so far... but I'm posting it anyway.

Feedback is encouraged!

Enjoy!


The technician pressed the button and sat down, preparing to take notes as the computer booted up .

"Merry Christmas, Doctor! I wasn't expecting to see you today," and the interview began.

After a time the technician asked "Would you ever consent to digitizing your memories and personality for the benefit of the human race?"

"Oh, I don't know, Doc, I mean, maybe one day such a technology will exist, but I don't know that I would ever be willing to consent to something like that."

"You might be surprised," the technician sighed.

"What was that, Doc?"

"Nothing, granddad, Merry Christmas," and then powered down the computer and finished filling out the report.

Sort:  

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

I accept!

Thank you. That you personally feel it is worthy is quite a refreshing validation of the effort I put into it.

Oooo, nice twist at the end! You definitely managed to pack a lot of great elements in a small space (dialog, setting, etc.). I love pieces that leave you going, "wait a minute.... what?" at the end, and yours certainly did that (in a good way - LOL!). Well done!

Thank you. As I indicated above I'm very new to the idea of Flash Fiction, so I wasn't sure if I was breaking some unwritten rule by relying on so much dialog. Most of the samples I've read so far have been extremely dense in how they convey information through description, alone.

LOL! Earlier today, I shared a piece of my Flash Fiction, and I think it's about 99% dialog! If there's an unwritten rule, I definitely missed it! 😎

Congratulations. This post is featured in this week's Muxxybot Fiction Curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-fiction-curation-12

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53