In Search :: 50 Word Short Story

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

I've never written a 50-word story before.

I've been down to 500 and then to 300, both of which I thought were very difficult.

It's a different feeling working within 50, writing something that has some kind of meaning within that very hard limit of words. It forces the writer to pick his words well, but also impresses on the reader that every word is important.


This is an entry for @miniature-tiger's ongoing 50 Word Short Story Prompt, this time the theme of: Fair.

My thanks to @jayna for suggesting I look at writing for these!


Ariana hunched against a building, staying hidden, searching for food.

“Hey, how about her?” In the street, the leader of a group of terrible men spoke loudly, pointing, leering. “She’s one of the fair-skinned. She’ll fetch a price.”

She froze, not wanting to be seen. She ran.

No food today.






Photo by @negativer

Join us at The Writers Block on Discord.
A great community of writers there, helping each other get better at what they enjoy doing.

Sort:  

Excellent 50 word fiction! Ariana was honored you chose her name. Maybe it will turn out better for her next time :)

Ha, thanks! It's a side story to a longer short story I'll probably be putting on steemit shortly. I don't know if it ends well for her there either, but we can hope :)

Can't believe I missed this. Darnit Neg. You better give me a sequel now!

Thanks @tinypaleokitchen! More to come....probably! :)

Nice!

It conveys the setting, the hunger, and the fear, very well.

😄😇😄

@creatr

Good job! This is not an easy task, and you got me all into that scene immediately. Might have to try my hand on one of these... one of these days...

Thanks! Not much time to draw someone in before you have to conclude! It's a fun little writing exercise, like haiku :)

Oh my! That’s a ringer! I love it. Every word really does count, and you used each one to advantage! Welcome to my addictive little habit. 😊

Addictive is a good word. It feels like it could easily be something you could spin out whenever you have a creative whim. Thanks @jayna!

Great job! The 50-word stories are tough, but you came out with a very clear story. I enjoyed it.

Thanks! It's a fun creative exercise, and still a legitimate story in its own right.

I can see where it would be rather challenging to write any story with only 50 words! About all you could write would be 1 scene...

One very tiny scene, barely an anecdote. Just have to pack as much meaning and substance in as you can.

You tell much about the world our fair-skinned protagonists inhabits in your 50 words. Of course I want to read more:)

Thanks! It is actually a bit of a teaser for a longer short story I'm working on. It's kind of a cool opportunity to use these little 50-word-stories to paint backstory vignettes for characters you (the author) care about.

You'll have to post some when you get further along:)

Wow

I like how you pack so much into just 50 words.

I'm off to check out the contest post.

Too bad for Ariana though

Blessings

I like the setting! really well transmitted even with very few words :)

Thanks! The setting is mostly in your head; just needed a (very) few words to set it up :)

Hadn't thought about it like that! Brilliant

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42