You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blasphemous (Short Story - Satire)

in #fiction7 years ago

My father was a preacher

We have that in common.

but he never forced me to believe.

Well one out of two out bad.

I tried to stick to what I was taught as a child. It wasn't my natural way to rail against it. I had to be pushed severely. And believe me I was. I wish it wasn't the case, as I know there are many good Christians. And I knew some who qualified. Unfortunately I knew far more that didn't. My attitude and defiance became moulded to a degree by these types and their actions. And these aren't the sort of actions I would describe specifically.

So yes, it is a shame. It's the more rigid fundamentalism that I know of personally. I think there have been beautiful truths that have revealed themselves through religious scholars. It's the dogmatism around that truth that corrupts it. Perhaps that's a human folly at work.

Sort:  

It's the still small voice you want to listen to, not the blustering of the self righteous. The poem I posted today is sort of about that.

I'm learning to listen to this voice more each day. Some days it's easier than others. But I do agree. Thank you.

And your poem captured that quite well - although I will comment on the post about my thoughts when I get the chance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56111.00
ETH 2371.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31