You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blasphemous (Short Story - Satire)

in #fiction7 years ago

It's interesting to me how many people who were raised in a strict religious environment end up turning away from it as they get older and how others who have no religious upbringing are drawn to it as they begin to think about life. Perhaps it has something to do with freedom the idea that no one likes to be told what they are to do or what they have to believe. Too bad that Christians and other beliefs as well can't let go when someone doesn't agree, that they get indignant mad and sad that you won't agree with them. It makes you just like them, and like you say, who want to be in heaven if it is full of Christians? My father was a preacher but he never forced me to believe. Now it's my doubts that firm My Religion.

Sort:  

My father was a preacher

We have that in common.

but he never forced me to believe.

Well one out of two out bad.

I tried to stick to what I was taught as a child. It wasn't my natural way to rail against it. I had to be pushed severely. And believe me I was. I wish it wasn't the case, as I know there are many good Christians. And I knew some who qualified. Unfortunately I knew far more that didn't. My attitude and defiance became moulded to a degree by these types and their actions. And these aren't the sort of actions I would describe specifically.

So yes, it is a shame. It's the more rigid fundamentalism that I know of personally. I think there have been beautiful truths that have revealed themselves through religious scholars. It's the dogmatism around that truth that corrupts it. Perhaps that's a human folly at work.

It's the still small voice you want to listen to, not the blustering of the self righteous. The poem I posted today is sort of about that.

I'm learning to listen to this voice more each day. Some days it's easier than others. But I do agree. Thank you.

And your poem captured that quite well - although I will comment on the post about my thoughts when I get the chance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57324.42
ETH 3010.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36