Freewrite Challenge - Alive

in #fiction7 years ago

It took her four straight hours but Barb finally gave her life on paper.

She stood back to fully take in what she had drawn in frenzy, pouring out her soul as she drew. It wasn't hard. It din't take a thought. The minute she picked up her color pencils, it had just latched onto her almost as if Yelsy wanted to be born. And a natural birth indeed it was.

Yelsy?

Yes, that was what Barb had named her. Every night as soon as her eyes closed shut, she had these dreams where she would spend hours talking to Yelsy in her dreams. And she remembered every conversation she had with Yelsy.

U5dseMSvf1jiwMhLcWXdT2jFUkQHMUR_1680x8400.png

Strange as it was, Barb somehow had gotten very attached to Yelsy. An artist that she is, Barb finally decided one weekend to draw her.

She smiled as she looked adoringly once again at her "cute little Yelsy."

Her smile turned to an expression of astonishment as the paper rippled. Just like a stone creating ripple in a pool. The paper shook and made a popping sound creating a smoky mist whirl right above it.

Yelsy was standing upright on the drawing table! She was alive.


Woah! I had great fun with this. This story was written for the #freewrite challenge by @mariannewest.

To all those reading this, I had a tough time making this story. Not because of lack of content to write but due to the ideas bursting in excess inside my head. I had to make Yelsy alive and I had to do it in 5 minutes. I was just as much stressed as I was having fun :)

Thank you @mariannewest for this.

Barb is not a fictional character. Well this story is but @barbara-orenya actually drew this! How cool is that!

God, How I wish I could draw! :(

Sorry I digress :)

But @ barbara-orenya is actually the artist behind this and below is the link to her post for the same:
https://steemit.com/writing/@barbara-orenya/express-your-fancifulness-from-this-visual-prompt-whimsical-writing-challenge-

I would also at the same time like to apologize to Barbara for taking the liberty to name and call her BeautiFools creations as Yelsy. Hope you don't mind Barb, but I just needed to put that as the name. It just struck gold in my head for a name for this cutie.

Thank you for letting us use this character of yours for the challenge. I wanted to go in so many directions with this story but hey 5 minutes is 5 minutes right :)

Hope you all enjoyed this. Do leave a comment and let me know.

Sort:  

Bro plzz follow me

Bro plz stop spamming shit.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mydivathings to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I don't mind you named her Yelsy ! If I may quote myself :

no limit to your imagination,
nothing has to be plausible or orderly, here, we are no longer in the world of adults with mental constructs ... we are in a whimsical fanciness and anything is possible, don't let any physical laws hassle you

So you can name her as you want, it is your story after all ;-)

I have really much enjoyed your version @mydivathings ^_^
Now I much would like to know what happens after ! ;-)
I'm curious , so if you want to write more, just for your pleasure and ours, you are most welcome
gleeful.png

Thank you! I will continue this story up with another post for sure. Will let you know once posted :)

You can make it longer and submit it to Barbara's challenge :) No 5 minutes restriction there. And of course, any freewrite might be the beginning or the nudge for a longer piece :)

Today’s prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-25-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-bubbling

Yes I surely will make it a longer story and publish :)

Yes, I have submitted the day 25 story as well.

Good job! Thanks to @barbara-orenya you have planted 0.13 tree to save Abongphen Highland Forest in Cameroon. Help me to plant 1,000,000 trees and share my Steem Power to the others. Selfvoting is prohibited, but that should be the reason to spread the world to protect our precious environment. Check out profile of our conservation association @kedjom-keku and the founder/coordinator @martin.mikes to get more information about our conservation program. My current SP is 14298.44. Help me to plant more trees with your delegated SP.

Thanks a lot,
your @treeplanter
www.kedjom-keku.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63180.80
ETH 3418.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46