A whisper, $100 and the sicko never sleeps.

in #fiction7 years ago

I remember the day well. It was one of those ordinary days however one with a milestone, so a little less ordinary. But, nothing special. I had quit my job...it was all becoming too much.

It was 3pm..I didn't stick around for my own farewell. 3pm was my usual time to clock off. So, I left without even a second thought. 

Up until then, I was lucky to work in a place where I had a great deal of freedom. Somehow when I signed on, I managed to sell the company with this line... "I am more effective working less hours"...not quite sure why, but they bought it.  

I think they liked my honesty. But, it wasn't really honest. I was just lazy and liked happy hour a little too much. First to the bar. Always.  

On this day, thats where I ended up 10 to 4. Right on time, took my usual set, had my usual drink. 

I was chatting to Jake, a casual bar tender, 20 something and little too cheery to work in such a dive. But, it was a nice contrast to the depressing surroundings. 

After a couple, nature came calling. I headed off to the stalls. I had been there since open and thought I was the only person in the place. This illusion was shattered with a whisper.. 

"Can you give me a hand?" 

Instantly, my mind went to those nightmare type movies. Am I being prayed on? A little early in the day. But a sicko never sleeps.  

"How do you want me to help?" 

Silence...

"Can you give me a hand?" 

I was getting impatient, I got my self right and proceeded to try and open the door of the stall next door. I opened it and no one was there. 

Strange. 

I looked in the mirror and I heard the voice again "Can you give me a hand?". 

For the life of me I couldn't see anyone, anything or even locate where it was coming from. 

I bolted towards the door. Thinking I'd just shut it all out. I took my seat at the bar. Jake asked "Is everything alright?" 

"Yeah fine, is anyone else here?" I snapped back. 

"Ah nah man, you are the only one - are you okay?" 

"Yeah, yeah it's just that...nah all is good - another please" 

There was a slight awkwardness between us. He poured the beer and sat it down on my coaster, went back to pottering around the bar. 

I pulled out my wallet and reached for my last $100 note. I bought it up to the light, to check it was real.  Counterfeiting was running riot in my neck of the woods. 

When I put it to the light again, I notice a strange movement in the note and its supplemented "Can you give me a hand?" 

The face on the note was talking..

"I need your hand" 

I look more closely, yes..its definitely talking and I am pretty sure it's me... 

I call Jake over to inspect the note. I down my beer faster than I can even fathom. I hand over the note to Jake. He looks at it. 

"Looks normal to me - had a dodgy one the other day" 

Jake takes the note to the teller and places it in. "Don't let me go, I need your hand" as he is shutting the teller draw. It keeps on speaking. 

I quickly go to say something to Jake but he just looks dumbfounded as whats going on...he responds "It's okay, you can go now" 

I walk towards the door and on my way out I bump into Jim. "Where you going? Not sticking around" 

"Nah gotta go, gotta go" 

Jim walks into the bar as I linger in the door way and light up a cigarette. I overhear Jim saying to Jake "What's wrong with him?"...

Jake "Another episode" 

It doesn't register, it can't register. I am oblivious to myself. 


Sort:  

Oh, the bizarre! I was half expecting this to take a turn to the fantastic, but the ending was satisfying nonetheless.

I really appreciate the apparent simplicity of your prose, it makes every line more impactful. This is one truly remarkable story, and I’d love to see the power of your writing in other genres.

At the moment, my partner and I are hosting “Cryptails”, a digital narrative contest. This week’s theme is “technological-horror”, and we would be thrilled to read an entry from you. This is a personal invitation = )

All best,
Jean

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50