Originalworks Fiction Writing Challenge #2 - Filling the Void

in #fiction7 years ago

This is my entry into @originalworks fiction writing challenge. They ask us what happens when two invisible people bump into each other. While there must be a million different ways to take this task, I decided to take it literally, and gave us two truly invisible people.

The second part of the task was to keep the story between 250 and 450 words. If you have read my work before, you will know that staying under 450 words is a tall task for me. I had to do a fair bit of cutting. But in the end, the below came in at 448 words. I'll give you the other two for your comments. haha.

If you would like to check out the Original Post, and perhaps enter the challenge yourself, Check it out OriginalWorks Writing Challenge

So without further ado.

"Filling the Void"


Image Source Medium.com

I got the short end of the stick.

I mean, who wants to be invisible their whole life? Sure, a few days, rob a bank, sneak into the girl’s locker room at school, spy on stuff, that was all grand. For a little while anyway.

When my superpower came forth, I was excited, but now, I’m just bored.

I enjoy walking the streets. It’s like I have an invisible force field around me. People don’t see me, but they avoid me all the same. I guess that’s how she found me.

I was walking down the street, minding my own business, when I noticed something odd about the people ahead of me. There was the usual, people walking down the street, I had my ring of protection where no one got close to me. Otherwise the street was packed.

Except it wasn’t.

Another ring, exactly like mine was approaching. It just seemed like a lull in the foot traffic, a void that just occurred naturally in the flow of people. But it was something else entirely.

A few moments later, the void met my own, and combined. People flowed around the space without missing a beat. I looked. I actually strained my eyes. But of course I could see nothing except the flow of people.

And then the void spoke. “I’ve been watching you.” a feminine voice crossed the distance like a whisper. A man walking by turned to look across at a woman who was passing in the other direction. She obviously was not watching him so he shook his head and kept walking.

“I’m sorry?” I muttered, confused. Not the best first line to the only person who seemed to know you existed.

The voice came out of the space ahead of me again. “Surely you’ve noticed your little circle.” I nodded absently before realizing, even though she knew I was there she couldn’t see me.

“Mmhmm” I muttered, ever the eloquent speaker.

“Well I watched your little space moving through the street the last couple of days” the voice came back. “From up there!” There was a sound, then a muttered curse. “To your left, three floors up, red blinds.” the voice explained exasperated as I looked where she indicated.

“So… You’ve been watching me? You found me. Now what?” I admit, I hadn’t represented myself well in this meeting. But why start now?

“Well.” She paused, “I was hoping for a bit of a warmer welcome. But all things considered, beggars can’t be choosers.” There was a sigh before she continued. “ So I thought maybe we’d start with a date.” She gave off a giggle that sounded nervous “I promise I’m quite the looker.”

Image Source Freepik

Thanks for reading! I hope you have enjoyed my story, and will visit some of the other posts in my blog. If you really enjoy it, give me a follow. I'd appreciate having you on board!

Sort:  

Thanks for shearing. this post i like and upvoted.good story. you are great @ mikepm74.

Very well done, maybe they will find a ring of non invisibility for their date.

Congratulations @mikepm74! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is immediately what I started thinking when I read the prompt- love where you took it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24