It's Time to Make #Fiction Trend Again! I'm Giving 100 SBD to Contest Runners in the Fiction Category!

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Mike, this is an excellent and generous idea.

I had a go at fiction writing for the first time a couple of weeks ago called with a futurist piece called The Family. I hoping to continue that as I learn to write fiction.

But that gave me an idea for a contest. Maybe I could DM you on Discord to discuss if you have a few minutes?

Hiya Pennsif! Feel free to hit me on Discord whenever. I will get back to you as I am able. Headed to bed at the moment, but if you want to sketch out what you are thinking, I will get back to with you as soon as I see what you are up to! Looking forward to hearing about it!

I'll catch you on Discord as soon as I see you on there. Is PAL or Writers Block the best place to find you? Or SteemitBC?

Pennsif has been approved for funding pending the contest post release.

That's 2 of five. Who wants funding next???

Here is the link to our latest contest. We have been working our way through the (used to be four but now are apparently seven) Narrative Conflicts. So far we've done Person vs: Person, God, and Self. Our latest is Person vs Society. Each contest awards 20 SBD to the winner and their story is read aloud on air during the next Fictioneers broadcast.

If possible, the author joins us and we discuss what inspired​ the story, etc. We still have Person vs Nature, Supernatural, and Technology, and a 20 SBD donation would cover one round's prize. So please check it out, and maybe even enter. The more, the merrier!

https://steemit.com/conflictprompt/@jrhughes/fictioneers-writing-contest-20-sbd-prize-man-vs-society

Hey @jrhughes! You all have great stuff going on with the Writer's Block. I would be happy to sponsor the next round of the competition. That will give me a little bit of time to move some Steem around without taking too much of a loss I hope.

Let me know when the next round is ready to get under way and I will get the funds sent over to you.

That's 3 FUNDED!

Awesome! Thanks so much :)

I share your pain, fiction was the thing when I joined steemit but now it seems almost dead compared to what it was before. Glad you are doing something about it from your side hopefully I brings out the writers and keeps them

What a great idea and I love that you are supporting others to do this. I am currently doing an Art Contest weekly (which yes I am paying out of pocket for at the moment as it hasn't grown quite enough yet), but maybe down the line, I may use those for fiction contests, it definitely would be interesting and I have thought about it, but so glad that you are offering to help others. I have also noticed a downfall in the amount of fiction contests out there as of late and I do hope it picks back up.

That would be a cool fusion topkpop! Let me know if you get it together. I would be interested for sure.

I've got a couple of new sources of Steem income, so hopefully I will be able to continue sponsoring an event here and there after this round of five. So find me on Discord when you are ready and we can chat and see if I am in a position to sponsor you!

Sounds like a great idea. I was thinking of running one of my own (so I couldn't enter it). My biggest problem is funds - most of what i published in October was 100%SP.

Most of the sbd I have had was donated to causes. So I am in a building-up mode again re sbd. I was hoping to build a 35sbd pool to administer the contest. I have about 15 now.

Was considering letting potential authors submit and vote on a selection of prompts. That winner would receive 5 sbd and their prompt being used in the contest.

Then the stories would be on that winning prompt with a prize for 1st(15) 2nd(10) and 3rd(5). Word limit from 750-1500 with a 7 day window? I worry about an open max - don't want to be comparing very short stories to novellas...

I'd love to hear your thoughts. This would be my 1st contest and I think it's a great way for me to give back to the community that has supported me here.

@jonknight,
I agree with you on an open max word limit, apples & oranges...but I like your idea. I’m kinda floundering here too, the SBD’s been a little slow. If I weren’t doing limerick contests I’d pitch in too and make it a bigger payout. Maybe in the future. Good luck, I’ll be watching for it.
@Lymmerik

I'm just tossing ideas around right now. It could be a conflict-prompt of sorts, but I'd hoped to do a 'double contest' where the prompt and the stories are each rewarded. Photo prompts have been done several times and was trying to come up with something that would be just as interesting. Might end up with that. I'm a virgin in this. Lots I don't know.

There's loads of good prompts out there. Wonderful photography and art. If you want to see a wonderful way this has been done in the past, you need look no further than what @gmuxx has been doing with his art prompt contest one week and then the writing challenge based on the winner of the previous week's art contest.

I did try to fashion my contest a little bit after his, but I didn't have anywhere near the reach he has, so I wasn't getting as many art submissions as I hoped. I'd probably suggest, at least for the first bit while you are getting your feet under you, go out and find art you like on your own, and draw the writers, then once you have an active following, introduce the art challenge side of it.

Of course you can run your challenge any way you see fit, just my thoughts from my experience.

Would love to see you put this together! If you theme it around Armistice Day, let me know, I may go ahead and fund a couple of these before this post pays out if they are starting sooner, hadn't really thought that part through.

Keep the ideas flowing!

Working right now on the post announcing the contest - subject Armistice.
1000-1500 words. Was writing it as a winner take all 15 sbd contest 'cause that's what I have! LOL. Would love to have more to payout though. Either way, I'm doing this. I appreciate the impetus to get moving with it.

Announcing Jon's 1st Fiction Contest - Armistice

didnt know what to call it lol

Nice! I like it! I'm down with your write up.

FUNDED!

WOCCA WOCCA! Thanks @mikepm74! Adding that to the write-up!

then again I just realized Armistice Day is coming up and THAT is worth writing about. Might just throw that contest together. It's 7 days from now... hmmm.

@jonknight,
Go for it! Timing is perfect.
@Lymmerik

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 19.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @mikepm74
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mikepm74 to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I love giving out sbd!! It was fun giving away 15sbd during steemoween.... And in the middle of it I entered a writing prompt competition.... Let me think if I can come up with something deep and worthy of your most generous sponsorship!
Thanks!

Please do @em3! The Steemoween porches thing was a genious idea. We need to get more of that sort of thing going on in the future, getting the support trickling down from on high.

I'm looking forward to seeing what you come up with!!

This post has received a 8.78 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @mikepm74. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

I love you new frictions very much but I am not very good at writing them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48