You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 50 WORD FICTION | The Hive

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

I like the way you wrote this. It reminds me of Daphne de Maurier´s short story The Old Man which was really had to be read until the end and then revealed the true identity of the characters which had been the swan family... a real deception but so excellently written. Thanks for sharing! Resteemed/following you.

Sort:  

That's not a story I am familiar with, but sounds intriguing. I was hoping to build up a little uncertainty before explaining what was really going on. Not easy in 50 words, but glad you enjoyed it. Thank you :)

Yeah, you did great with this one... I 'm not a writer but simply a reader that enjoys such stories. The Old Man was part of a compilation of short stories of de Maurier's book called The Birds and Other Short Stories also available in pocket books. She is known to have written scary themes.

Thanks for introducing me to Daphne de Maurier, and for your kind feedback on my work :)

You´re welcome! Yes, I would recommend her books including the story The Birds from which Hitchcock based his film of the same title. Only difference is that De Maurier´s original version was more scary....hehehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57