The Darkness Without (A very short story)

in #fiction8 years ago (edited)

Inspired by the new Fiction trail, I thought I would have a bash at a short story as its been a while. It is slightly inspired by a post I read from someone about a particular condition. But I won't give it away. 10 steem to the person under 60 rep who guesses which post gave me the idea for the story!

A man hides in a derelict cottage looking out at the night through one of the dilapidated windows, dwelling on the darkness without and the darkness within.

It was dark outside. Silent. Not a complete silence, occasionally a chirp sounded or the wind shushed at the trees. He clenched his jaw to prevent it from shaking. He had been here for hours. His breath was hurried, whistling through his clenched teeth. His eyes darted at the slightest movement. His body movements terse and jerky. He kept thinking he could hear something. Kept thinking he could hear them. But each time he dared a look there was nothing.

His eyes glazed as he played the days events over in his head. keep it together Sam, keep it together he muttered. The screams he was hearing audible to only him. He pulled his stare away from the darkness outside to look at his trembling hands. The blood had dried now. Old blood. Her blood. No, no no he thought tearing his gaze away. She wasn't his Mags That wasn't my wife.

How could he have done that? Her screams seemed so real. Even at the end she had pleaded with him. Had he lost it? They say those who question their sanity are the most sane but why would you question your sanity? Why? How could someone do what he did? How would anyone, how could anyone believe that that thing, that thing that looked like her and talked like her and touched him the way she touched him was not his wife? He knew, oh god he knew and he did not want to know.

He shook and could not stop shaking, breath escaping from him in staggered gasps. What was that? He wrapped his arms around himself. His bloodied, scabbed arms holding himself to stop the damned shaking and ever so slowly raised his head to the window ledge.

There was nothing.

It was dark outside

Sort:  

Hello @meesterboom,

Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

What do you love to write about? Join us on SteemTrail today and find others who share your interest!

The SteemTrail Community looks forward to more great stuff from you. So, please keep up the great work!

Keep on Steemin!

Thank you very much! I hope this trail goes well!

Thank you for posting @meesterboom. Are we supposed to give you the answer here....if so...was it @thecryptofiend''s post regarding the imposter? ..Your loved one is replaced by an imposter....
What do you think?
BTW..You can write a mean tale....Wait until you get a hold of @oaldamster's story.

Congratulations, it was indeed inspired by the fine post of @thecryptofiend! 10 steem on its way to you and I couldn't think of a better recipient! Let me know if you have any problems receiving it!

Thank you for your generosity @meesterboom. Yes....the contest reward has been received and is sitting happily in bleujay's Steem Wallet.....lovely. Thank you again for the opportunity to participate in the contest.

All the best.

“A good [short story] would take me out of myself and then stuff me back in, outsized, now, and uneasy with the fit.” David Sedaris KUDOS!

Yeah, I love this comment! Cheers and double cheers for the gif!

I'm pretty sure I read that post too!

Glad you recognised it! This is one to sort the voter/non-readers from the readers!

@meesterboom I was reading this on mobile offline - and I thought @thecryptofiend's post about the impostor
it's been guessed :) santa @meesterboom

Hehe, yeah, totally that article. It's good to know that there are readers on steemit isn't it!!

@meesterboom yes, sometimes, I don't understand - I use google translate
sometimes it's English but I can't get a grip - too intelligent :D

Haha! I refuse to believe that! Nothing is to intelligent for you!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67958.74
ETH 3273.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65