You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Hunt -- Part Eight

in #fiction6 years ago

Rats scurried across the floor, executing their filthy duties with speed.

I don't think I would have stayed there enough to explore. I'd run out the moment I'd heard them. Screaming.

Terrified of the tension he felt, he ran out of the shack screaming.

So did James! :-D I seriously thought that while reading!

Yes, I'm back! :-) I'm really excited to see how much this story has progressed. The granny part was really interesting to read. I see this part as very important in the story, and imagine that she'll appear again later, or at the end of the story. Parts 9 to 11 to be read tomorrow...

Hope you had a wonderful holiday season, and wish you a Happy New Year full of ideas and creativity!

Sort:  

I'm so glad you are back. I hope you had a fantastic holidays as well and may you too, be blessed with a Happy New Year.

I did the rats especially for my wife and daughters. We had chickens for about ten years and sometimes they would attract mice. Once the mice got into the house, the game was up. The chickens had to find a new home.

Mice and rats don't scare me as much, but tell me a scary ghost story and I'm done. I fall apart for weeks. Can't handle spooky at all!

Mice, rats and horror stories are on the same level for me. Though, while the fear for the former only last until the moment they're gone, for the latter, it appears whenever I have to go out alone at night. Only when the story fades in my memory, I can walk comfortably at night... And yet, in dark places that memory suddenly pops into my head :))

This is really funny to me. Just last night I was talking with my brother-in-law. He is an avid sportsman and goes out into the woods probably 5 nights a week. He often takes his big, burly friends with him, who think they want to go out with him. He was telling me how often these big, tough guys fall apart in the dark woods.

Just a couple weeks ago, one of his friends went with him. This guy is about 6' 4" and 240. All muscle and toughness. He got so scared, he was rolled up in the fetal position, basically crying, in the woods. My brother-in-law had to almost carry him back out.

Funny how the woods and the dark bring out some primal fear in all of us, no matter how tough we think we are.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62835.39
ETH 3401.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39