The Dirtbag Vernacular [Original Novel]

in #fiction6 years ago

TheDV.png


ENTRY 12

Things become serious between Frank and the girl Molly that had been wearing my pajamas on Thanksgiving Day. The two of them begin looking at apartments just north of the Tenderloin on lower Nob Hill.

On a sunny winter afternoon I walk with Molly towards downtown. Frank is doing some prep work for a show at the Moscone center and Linda is at her family’s place in L.A. for Christmas. Frank and Molly haven’t found an apartment yet and Molly has been staying with Frank, at Russ and Laura’s on a regular basis.

We’re headed for the San Francisco public Library to get some videos. We walk along joking, having a good time enjoying each other’s company. Sometimes we bump into each other as we round a corner. I don’t think too much of this but can’t help but feeling a little mutual attraction. On the way back we see a mentally challenged couple. The two are around twenty-five years old and they’re sitting on the steps of the San Francisco Mint Museum.

“I nlove you,” I look at Molly mimicking a speech impediment.

“I luvvv you toooo,” Molly replies assuming her own retarded affectation.

I pick Linda up at the airport in her Toyota truck after her Christmas trip. I put a thirty-six inch television set in the back that she got as gift from her dad. I can already envision myself, with drink in hand, lying back on Linda’s bed watching the N.F.L. playoffs. She’s also got an Absolut Vodka gift set with a really fancy glass sitting on each side of the bottle.

As we cruise into the last week of the year I don’t feel any urgency in finding a place to live. I’m sure Linda will be cool and not kick me out at the end of the month. I ask Kurt about the extra room at his place, I might have to swallow my distaste for the Haight in return for having a place to live. He’s waiting for the drummer from his last band in New Orleans to be moving west soon. The idea of living in the so called artist’s loft in the Tenderloin is always there. It’s posted everyday in the S.F. Chronicle’s classifieds.


Photo by Hoffacurse

Sort:  

Congratulations @leftyobradovich! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81