FLASH FICTION: “Give Me Moonlight,” inspired by Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata.

in #fiction6 years ago (edited)

Here's my first attempt at flash-fiction: a love affair between two people and a piano. Enjoy!

You might want to play the music while you read it. Video below the story.

GIVE ME MOONLIGHT — by Katrina Ariel

Moonlight

THE CASTLE IS COLD, but inside I burn. I am lurking in the hall, drawn by the music, seduced by your song.

The piano stops. Your feet make the floorboards a bass drum. The door opens with a whisper of wind, and your eyes are on me, dark and lustful.

Did you hear my footsteps? Did my longing knock when my fist did not?

Smooth and low, your words tempt me into your lair, where opulence drapes the walls and spreads herself on your floors. The instrument has center stage, cushioned by a jewel-colored carpet fortunate enough to find itself beneath the object of your obsession.

You ask what I want you to play, but you already know. Beethoven, of course. Moonlight. Give me Moonlight, again and again.

Your fingers touch the keys. I know you watch me, but if I fall into your eyes I will miss the song.

I lean into the mouth of the piano, offering myself to the music. It claims my blood, takes my heart as its own, residing in my ribcage. Vibrating in my bones. The resonance builds until, too soon, the song changes.

The darkness shifts into a dance of shadow and light. Now you are playing with me, and I brave your gaze.

Your lips twist up. You know what you do to me. Your fingers keep moving, faster now, with urgency and need.

I press against the polished wood. My feet take me closer to you, until I can see your hands flying across the keys. Such precision. Such mastery.

My chest feels as if it will burst, breath deep and desperate. The song comes like waves, now softer, now building to a crest. When the last wave breaks, and your hands rest on the keys, the only sound is our breathing.

Does it do the same to you, this intimate concert you give? Does it consume you as it does me?

I want to lift my hand and brush your wild hair away from your face, but I do not touch you. You keep your long fingers on the keys.

Our eyes betray us.

I step back, retreat before I give in and surrender to you completely. The door handle is cold under my hand.

You speak my name. Good God, you make it a song.

I stop, look back, and curtsy deep. A whisper of thanks is all I can manage. I slip into the hall and rush through the castle. I tumble outside, running through the gardens, seeking the solace of night.

You know I will come again. You will play for me, and maybe, one day, I will be yours.

…END…

Here’s the song, in case you don’t have it already playing in your head: Beethoven — Moonlight Sonata

I’m new on Steemit, and love meeting new friends! You can check out my INTRO POST if you want to know more about me.

If you’re a writer or musician, please say hello! Thank you for reading!

PEACE! @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel

Sort:  

OMG! This is SUCH an AMAZING post! Thank you for sharing! I gave you a vote!!

Thanks for the vote and the enthusiastic encouragement. :)

This is very nice for a first try! You are definitely a poet at heart!

Thank you! Yes, I've been writing for a long time — started with poetry so long ago I don't want to count the years. lol! But this is my first short story in forever. So glad you enjoyed it! :)

“Did my longing knock where my fist did not”

Love that! I enjoyed this!

Thank you so much for reading! (I particularly liked that line, too.) :)

Where did you find the top picture? It's awesome! The 2nd pic is nice too.

Top pic is from pexels.com. :)

Thanks I'll have to check it out.

Wowwww! I imagined that I was the character in love. There was really an intimate feeling I felt when I read your story. It's so perfect! Please make part 2 😍❤

Yay! Thank you so much! You've made this writer very happy. I'll keep the story going. :)

"Did you hear my footsteps? Did my longing knock when my fist did not." This line kills me every time!

This piece moved me. I savoured every word!

Oh, that line, I know! I am still blown away. The muse brings the words, I just write them. Sincere gratitude to you!

Being smooth is key to seduction.

Yes, it is. :)

The juxtaposition between music and seduction works well. You carried throughout and blended the two creatively. I enjoyed your story. I am a writer too, so always on the lookout for new writers to connect with.

Thanks for finding me, saying hello, and huge gratitude for reading my work. I appreciate your feedback! Yay for more writer friends!!! :)

You're most welcome. The more writer friends the merrier. I've followed you, so I can find your material easily.

Followed you right back! Keep writing! :)

Also could be titled: How I Feel When I Watch My Boyfriend Play Piano. This is fantastic! I really enjoyed the rhythm and passion of the piece.

So glad you enjoyed it! I don't know if they're "official," though. In fact, I think it's a secret relationship that would be dangerous for either of them to admit... (mind wanders off to contemplate the characters... planning part 2...)

I got this feeling, too! I was relating it to my personal experience - I swoon at piano players. Have fun spending time with the characters in your mind!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68398.12
ETH 3837.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65