You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Armistice Day 1940, Winona, Minnesota - a short story contest entry

in #fiction7 years ago

this is a story fraught with conflict - man vs man transmutes to man vs nature. This story is not about heroism in far away places but the challenge of overcoming animosities in daily life and working together as a team to rescue family and neighbours close to home. That is the real armistice. Well done.

If I might add a suggestion, drop The End, it's not a film, and artistically you wrapped it up with united front and a discerning reader would recognize that. As for the explanation, if the story is good it stands on its own. The story was good :)

Sort:  

Thank you, and fabulous feedback, @johngeddes. Normally I would never put The End after a story, but I wanted to carefully separate my 1500 word piece from the epilogue. I hit the absolute maximum word count to qualify for the contest, and was very worried I would get dinged for going over! :-)

Ah, I see. Well, IMHO your story should fare very well :)

Thank you for the vote of confidence!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63017.22
ETH 2457.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61