Armistice Day 1940

in #fiction7 years ago (edited)

Thank you for visiting this page. The content has been replaced, as the short story had its useful life here, and I have decided (two years later) to give the story a new lease on life.

In its place I am providing some information about the historic Armistice Day Blizzard that devastated Minnesota in 1940. This is the event upon which the short story was based.

It all started on November 11, 1940 - a day that was mild and pleasant. In those days, they did not have the weather systems we have today, and the people of Minnesota were completely unprepared. Many duck hunters were out in the fields, as it was the height of duck hunting season. People went to work and children went to school.

But the weather turned terrible. The temperature dropped like a rock and a terrible snowstorm moved in, dumping feet of snow. Duck hunters were trapped in their blinds. School children walked home in normal clothes in the blizzard and some were lost along the way. People tried to drive home from work, and many had to abandon their cars in ditches. Some perished trying to get home on foot.

In all 49 people died in Minnesota, and on Lake Michigan shipwrecks claimed another 59 lives. You can read more about the storm in the following resources:

The short story that appeared in this space was a fictional account of a family. It will appear soon in another form, hopefully in a mainstream publication, as I will be submitting it for consideration.

Sort:  

Beautiful story beautifully written! 🙂 I enjoyed it from top to bottom.

What I enjoyed mostly though is this: The events take place on Armistice Day, which was the theme required for the contest, and apparently all reference ends there. But that's so not true! In fact, you manage to talk about armistice and weapons and conflict without actually talking about them. The references are subtly present throughout the whole story. I mean, having the kids play a war game right on the first sentence: Brilliant!

Thank you for this lovely story!

Oh my! (Blushing.) Thank you, @michalis. The contest got me thinking and writing on this real life event, which is so heart-wrenching. I didn't even know about it until I began researching a backstory to write about. Thank you very much for taking the time to read it and comment.

this is a story fraught with conflict - man vs man transmutes to man vs nature. This story is not about heroism in far away places but the challenge of overcoming animosities in daily life and working together as a team to rescue family and neighbours close to home. That is the real armistice. Well done.

If I might add a suggestion, drop The End, it's not a film, and artistically you wrapped it up with united front and a discerning reader would recognize that. As for the explanation, if the story is good it stands on its own. The story was good :)

Thank you, and fabulous feedback, @johngeddes. Normally I would never put The End after a story, but I wanted to carefully separate my 1500 word piece from the epilogue. I hit the absolute maximum word count to qualify for the contest, and was very worried I would get dinged for going over! :-)

Ah, I see. Well, IMHO your story should fare very well :)

Thank you for the vote of confidence!

Hi, @jayna,

I've really enjoyed watching your story grow, and love its final form. Especially with the added explanation at the end! Nice work! :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

Thank you, @creatr! It's nice to be getting acquainted with you. I'm loving Writers Block!

I'll say a hearty amen to that! :D Write on!

THIS THING IS AMAZING, I LOVE IT @jayna!! Visit my blog and read a love story that makes your eyes water teary! hopefully this evening one night is good to write.
https://busy.org/indonesia/@geonusantara/aku-tak-mengerti-ini-hanya-soal-hati

Thank you. I really appreciate your thoughts, and the link to your blog. I will certainly pay a visit!

What an engaging story, @jayna! I like that it is partly based on real events. I'm sure the 1940s would be an unpopular time to be a pacifist and this is such a believable scene. Love your characters...well done!

Thanks so much @trislarimer! Your kind words mean a lot. It's a clever contest. :)

It's a little bit lengthy. But I didn't get bore.
Your perception is amazing. Good use of words.
You have an amazing talent. Keep it up.

Thank you! I appreciate your nice message!

I do love to write,,,it's a power of man

I’m not exactly sure what that means, but I like the mysterious sound of it. Thank you for commenting.

Wow. This is exceptional. This is tidy. This is such great content for Steemit. I am following you. I want to read everything you write ;-)

Thank you! I truly appreciate the nice compliment. I do love to write.

Thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55128.91
ETH 2303.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31