You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Day in the Clouds (Chapter 14) - The Hours Between 1800 and 1900 (Part 2 of 2)

in #fiction7 years ago

Great points you brought up. I had wanted to clear this up in a SILVER LINING, but I didn't want to bring these points up without anyone asking. Just to clarify, they're not able to understand Ledd at all haha All of the times when Ledd thinks that someone is able to understand him, it's all purely coincidence. Well... as of this chapter that is :O :O :O

What we're hearing the giants are saying are as is, except for the misheard words, of course. The communication is sadly one-way, and Ledd is the only one who can comprehend what others are saying. As to the manifested ones, I don't want to say too much, but I guess the communication thing already gives a clue as to who are the actual ones. Ledd doesn't know the difference though. That's where the blurring of reality and fiction comes into play.

I really had fun writing the time dilation, and I'm glad that it's still amusing you, my friend! I really hope that it's able to keep your attention throughout the whole story, as it would get pretty wibbly wobbly come the third arc haha!

As always, thanks for sharing your wonderful thoughts! Much appreciated :D

Sort:  

So even Ayesa can't understand him? I thought maybe she could, even though nobody else can.

No, she can't :( I wanted to play with the concept and make the readers question whether or not they understood each other. When I was observing them, Ace (Ayesa) talks to Zepp as if they understood each other, even though they really didn't. It's cool because they were playing and bonding, and she genuinely tried to reach out. Alas, I had to stick with reality for this one :(

Sorry to sweep the rug from under you, my friend. If you would notice though, I did give subtle hints that their conversation doesn't always sync. So, even though Ledd thinks that he's getting his point across, it was all just Ayesa trying to relate to him the best she can.

That's interesting. When my nephew was young, my brother told me about a special needs girl that was in his class. He said nobody else could understand her, but my nephew could, so he was her interpreter and protector. That's what made me think maybe Ayesa was the one person who could understand. But what you just said opens the old story up for re-interpretation. Did my nephew really understand her? Or was he just being open hearted and empathetic? But even if that was what it was, it was still very cool.

Huh, that's very intriguing. Honestly, I haven't heard of a story quite like that before. Although, I do believe in that theory that babies have the ability to understand each other. Since people with special needs have a delayed cognitive function, it lines up a bit. I mean, Zepp himself has the cognitive age of a one year old, so he's technically a baby in the head.

Haha! It's awesome that we both are rethinking our stance regarding it. I'm sure though that Ayesa doesn't understand Ledd because she's past the "baby" stage (5 years old at the time).

My latest thinking re my nephew is that maybe he didn't literally understand, but just had an empathetic feeling of what she needed, which was close enough.

Ohhh so like Ayesa. That's great that it was relatable then. Although, what you said really made me rethink my stance regarding how babies and special needs children communicate. In that, they may really have a connection all along. Definitely an interesting theory, since their operating on the same wavelength (same cognitive age). In another life, I would've been totally science-ing the heck out of this theory by now haha!

So Ledd actually had a wibbly wobbly timey wimey sphere when I thought he just had a simple ball then XD

Thanks for answering my questions both directly and indirectly, looking forward to Silver Lining :D

I'm sure it will continue to amuse me especially as it keeps cropping up (like how he's completely puzzled that Ayesa hasn't changed in all the "years" he's been away XD).

I really hope that it's able to keep your attention throughout the whole story

Sorry you're stuck with me for a while XP

Oh, even better, he had the wibbly wobbly timey wimey sphere. He just didn't know it yet.

Spoiler alert: this week's SILVER LINING is going to be weirdly different haha!

I'm super happy to have you on board, my friend. I'd be lucky if you'd be stuck even after this story wraps up. Stuck with reading the next stories, I mean. Not re-reading A Day in the Clouds for years (average person definition) and ignoring the next stories haha!

I will definitely be reading all of the stories!

eta: at least all of the stories that are not primarily romance, I can only do that under very specific circumstances with unreasonable conditions XD

Well then, you (and I) are in luck, because I don't write romance haha! I've inserted some romance, but that's just an aside. The most romance I've written was for 3 chapters of my debut novel. That was just so I could get that out of my system and say that I checked that off the list of genres haha!

LoL romance in the story or even as a subplot is fine XD characters might have romantic relationships after all :)

Are you trying out all the genres are you?

You got me! I'm indeed trying out all the genres. I don't want to get pigeonholed into one genre, so I try to flex my literary muscles whenever I can. It's interesting reading, let's say romance written by a horror writer or comedy by a non-fiction author, the different backgrounds add a lot of flavor to the pieces.

Really though, I'm just boxing myself into a corner every time I obfuscate the genres. I'm the one who's having a difficult time labeling my work and losing potential readers by just shelving it under "General Fiction" haha!

I'm not trying all the genres, but I think I'm with you there XD I've been told my stuff is "drama with sci-fi/fantasy elements but I'm not really sure" by someone who is generally very good at categorising things XD

And this particular project of mine I have enough stuff to make most people unhappy I think. Won't stop me from doing it or anything XP

I think Shakespeare was right when he said that everything can be boiled down to tragedy and comedy. Drama will be ever present, so the icing (sci-fi, fantasy, etc) is going to be the one that distinctly classifies something into a specific genre. Don't mind what others think, just write what you enjoy writing :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63749.66
ETH 3419.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48