You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SHORT FICTION - When the Levee Breaks

in #fiction6 years ago

I had thought I've seen the title before! While I'm a fan of the original, I think your tweaks really worked for this. They really elevated the piece to a level I never thought was possible (or even needed). Great work posting this as sort of a throwback. Everything felt fresh!

Sort:  

That's the first time I have published two versions of the same story. I think the first one was good, but after receiving feedback from one of the writing groups at the time I came to notice its flaws. And once i saw them I couldn't pretend they weren't there. But that didn't change the fact I still liked the story concept. I always wanted to return to it at some point, and give it its dues.

I think it's a more complete story now. The main issue was to get it into one characters perspective (there were mixed POV issues previously), and keep that consistent. Added descriptive elements, and a few other pieces. Not a lot really. But the reworking did give it a new feel. It was a good experience in editing - learning to let go of the deadwood in the story, adding new material that fits with the already written parts, and making it all gel now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64377.96
ETH 3500.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52