You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Reborn Chaper Fifty "The Scene at the Bar Continued"

in #fiction7 years ago

Nice mythology building here, my friend. The way you write conversations make it seem like you don't miss a beat. I really enjoy your consistency the most. Even though this answered a lot of questions, this chapter brought even more information to digest haha! Since we're considering this a "third arc" of the book, perhaps it would help if you posted a sort of character recap of the players we're dealing with currently? It doesn't have to be detailed, just brief pertinent info about them. Then you could link it at the start of the chapters for the people lagging behind. I think it would really help a lot with the reading experience. It would definitely help whenever those "Who's that again?" question arises in the middle of reading :D

Sort:  

Now that's a good thought about the character descriptions :) I've noticed some authors I read lately who also use a big cast have been putting up a glossary of characters in their books.
Out of curiosity, is there any of the new characters that have stood out to you enough that you wouldn't need a reminder?

That's a good suggestion, I would say for me, Matthias, Coderin & Michael are the hardest to remember so far in that order and Coderin does have an interesting past with his mother being killed by the evil vampiress Sandrayna and him being vampirically young due to the stasis 100 year dormancy, but he is still a mystery, but that's not saying much of any of these cool new characters since they were just recently introduced and need more chapters to fill out their role and depth. The character development will increase I'm most certain of it!

Been a super busy few days, I keep thinking about his suggestion and wanting to do it, but haven't had the time yet :) I think you'll find Matthias easy to remember shortly. Actually Code will become someone you remember simply by being the one that isn't focused on a great deal, lol.
Though it is sad to leave the McClaron's for a bit, it's also necessary for more than just the book plot, it would be way too much to have all of these people together haha! There probably would be no way of ever making characters stand out if I didn't leave some behind at times. (Don't worry though, they will continue playing a big role through the series :)
So I've done some reformatting, and the total amount of pages to this first book is now 470, and right now we are on page 370, exactly one hundred pages left to go just to give you an idea. And a crapload of things are going to happen in that time, lol.
Keep in mind that aside from character building, a lot of this first book is about putting a good majority of the players that will be involved in the whole series onto the board. There will be a few new people in each book, but not many, it will mostly revolve around who we've seen, and as the story progresses I bring different people (that you've gotten to know or at least been introduced to) to the forefront, fade others back, then bring them back again, lol. I have been told by every one of the somewhere around fifty people who have read both of the books, that while they liked this one a lot, they liked the second one even better, (and in some cases much better actually) and I'm hoping that's the way people continue to feel as it progresses!

Also, I had told Jed this a long time ago, before I chose to start posting this book in fact, that I had written two versions of it. Basically I had written a novella about Anna, the girls and Austin the summer before, then started the first book on the night before they left to Europe. The main difference is that Anna and Austin get together a year earlier, but also there's more background on each of the girls in that story. I'm considering putting the novella up, just to see if anyone thinks it would be a good way to go, having that as a sort of prequel, and also having book one begin in the action pretty much, in fact the prologue would then be put in its actual place in the story. I don't know, I was going to scrap the whole thing, but, hey, what is steemit for except to experiment right? LOL. Tell me if you'd be interested in reading that, yours and a few others who are reading this faithfully, are the opinions I need to make the choice.

I would definitely read the novella!!!!
That sounds amazing, I love prequels. i'm so tired, it's almost 5am, just about finished with my @everlove collaboration and about to post it then sleep for a few hours. Be sure to check my page for a quick instrumental :)

Nice!! I'm probably going to do it then. I had planned to take a break between Reborn and Renewal(second book) going to do more posts like the motorcycle anniversary, and hopefully resume Today Again, but it's good to have something I can post with minimum work involved since the work is already done.
Will definitely check out your post! Hope you got some sleep (Did you know that I'm an insomniac too?)

That is great news to hear, I am looking forward to the novella for sure. I was able to get two periods of sleep, my eight hours was broken into halves since I stayed up so late. I've always been nocturnal/an insomniac. Glad to hear I have friends like you who are sporadically online at random hours of the day :) Hope you enjoy the musical vibes, it's a bit different than usual.

Ironically, Tyros stood out for me the most haha It's interesting because he's the one who the others consider as the most mysterious. I guess the mystique surrounding him made him stand out from the rest haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56