A DAY WITH DEATH

in #fiction7 years ago

8:00
IMG-20171020-WA0006.jpg
I stretched, yawned and stood up from the bed,I saw something that looked like a scary lady,"no, it's probably a memory from my dream or because the light if off." I struggled to the socket and switched on the light "Jesus!! this was no memory, it's real". The lady or whatever it is turned her back to me. I froze, I could neither scream nor move, she stood up and approached me, I peed on my pyjamas.
IMG-20171020-WA0005.jpg
"I am death, I have known you ever since you were a baby. On your 8th birthday, you asked the Most High to give you a sign 24hours to your death,I have come to do that, you have only 24hours to live and your time counts now!!" as she spoke her voice echoed, I have never heard anything like that, it sounded like musical instruments put together. She went back to her former position, leaving me in my freight. This can't be true, my 24th birthday is two days from now,I can't remember making such request when I was eight.
DSC_1149.JPG
I rubbed my eyes and looked at myself on the mirror, this is not a dream. I pinched myself and it hurt, this must be some agent of darkness, I am not succumbing to it. I knelt down and started praying, casting and binding, speaking in tongues, kabashing. I felt a cold touch on my shoulder, "30 minutes gone, would you rather while away these remaining hours?" I felt goose bumbs on my skin, she had no facial expression, I couldn't tell if she was angry, making mockery of me or in good terms.

I sat down on my bed with my head placed on my laps, I couldn't think straight. I picked up my phone, who would I call? Wouldn't I sound stupid? "feel free to talk to me,I am not harmful to you until your time is up,you can talk to me if you want." I opened my mouth,my voice seemed lost,I could feel head pains. I picked out my diary from my drawer, even if I don't do anything atleast I should leave a message for my loved ones. I wrote for an hour, I begged my mum and loved ones not to cry for me that am going to a better place, I acknowledged everyone that have made an impact in my life then I made a strict request that no one should type RIP on my Facebook page. I wrote down the passwords and username of my social media accounts and online markets, including steemit. I made a request that someone should take up my steemit account and pretend to me, I don't want them to miss me. When I was satisfied with my writing I smiled, besides it could be a cool day,death is not the worst thing that can happen to a man.

"Do you know where I will go to after I die?" I asked her. "I am not allowed to unveil that to you but if you search your heart,the answer is there." I taught for a while, if I wasn't at peace with God,he won't be fulfilling a request I made 16years ago,I will probably make heaven. "Am I allowed to go out?" "of cause yes,you can do anything you will, until the last second." I went to my bathroom and took my bath, I felt shy to dress in front of her, she kept giving me that blurnt undescribeable expression. I wore the cloth I bought for my birthday photoshot and put on a bright make-up, took my atm and left with a small purse, she followed me.

I expected her to stop outside but she didn't, "must you follow me?"
"I wouldn't want to miss a nanosecond when it's time, don't worry, others can't see me." my heart was beating fast,I didn't even know where I was heading to. "You see that lady?" I turned and saw a lady taking her little son to school, "she has three days and twenty minutes to live" death said.
Tears dropped from my eyes,I couldn't help it,I felt really sad. "what has she done wrong, she doesn't deserve to die" the lady is my next door neighbour, very caring, she has been searching for a child and just adopted a son,trusting God to give her hers. "she doesn't deserve to die" I screamed. She laughed, I saw her teeth for the first time, it was as white as snow "do you deserve to die? No one deserves to die" I almost forgot that I was also a culprit and have few hours to live.

We stopped at an eatery at the end of my street, I ordered for pizza and Coldstone ice-cream, it was my first time taking Coldstone ice-cream. she starred bluntly as I ate.when we left,I bought suya in the street. My church wasn't far from here but I wanted it to be among the last thing I would do,I might sin during day so I decided to go for confession when am done touring.

I went to my boyfriends house, I wanted to surprise him. He has sticked with me for three years and respected my wish of keeping my virginity. I was going to loose it today, how would I leave this earth without knowing what it feels like,God will understand and forgive me. I went in with my spare key,aside the day I went to prepare him a surprise dinner on his birthday, I have never used the key cause I always called. The house was quiet, I knew he would be in,we spoke last night and he reminded me that he is still on vacation. I tiptoed to his room and opened the door,I saw him in his bed,he wasn't alone,he was with my bestfriend and they where naked. I broke out into laughter, what else could break the heart of someone that was told that her life on earth is draining with the count of the clock, someone that thought she has a bright future, someone that has uncompleted accomplishments and a birthday party in two days.

I walked out of his house,pretending not to hear his call and plea, at least he won't be heart broking when am no more,he won't be alone. I cried, death was by my side, staring with the blurnt look. I went to the atm and withdrew all the money in my account, I paid in 50% to my mum's account, 40% I transferred to 10 different strangers by just typing a random account number. I withdrew the remaining 10%.

IMG-20171012-WA0008.jpg
Death and I went to the beach, I designed my nickname with stones on the sea shore, I enjoyed the cool breeze while I flashed back to my life. I messaged those I felt I offended and those I haven't talked to for a long while, I called a lot of family and friends, sounding normal.I took lot of selfies, I am not far away, I updated that on Facebook with the pictures . I taught of my bestfriend and boyfriend, I forgave them,they aren't worth me dieing with hate in my heart. I sent my boyfriend a message on Facebook, I knew that he wasn't a fan of Facebook messager and it would take a long while before he sees the message, it was a touching one. I made friends with people in the beach and played with kids.

It was evening already, I took a cab to my church and attended evening mass, the choristers made me hunger for my journey to heaven,soon I would singing as my daily bread. I went to the priest and made confession, I re-confessed even the sins that must have been forgotten by God,there was no taking chances. On my way back I ordered for isi-ewu and agidi(pepper soup), my best meal, with a chilled hollandia yoghurt. Mum wasn't back from work, I prepared dinner for her and microwaved my isi-ewu pepper soup. I had few hours to go and I kind of felt dizzy. I went to my room and played a movie I have been postponing to watch the fault in our stars. death watched with me,I enjoyed my meal and movie,then I slept off.

I woke up, it was 9:00am, what was I doing alive or have I been dreaming? I saw a note on my drawer Second chance, my birthday photoshot dress was neatly hanged, my head ached.

FICTION FLASH

IMG-20170927-WA0063.jpg

Thanks for reading
If you had only 24hours to live
What will you do?
Upvote
Comment
Resteem
Have a nice day
Image 1 & 2 is a friends
Whatsapp status
Badge by @gbenga
Inspiration by @smyle

Have a lovely weeked!
Sort:  

Nice post dear, lesson.. We all must live a life of no spot because death might knock on the door any time...

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

"Second Chance"

Everyone should use it wisely.

Life is too small to play dangerously

Well said dear

@jeaniepearl
What a story. It is unlike any that I have ever read before.
I am glad is was a dream/fiction. Life is for the living.

Francis

Thanks for the compliment and for reading

Hi @jeaniepearl
This story sent goose pimple over me while reading it, thank God it was a fiction yet it's very meaningful.
@dubem-eu

I appreciate your comment

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.
Qurator is proudly supported by @reggaemuffin, vote for him as a witness here.

Wow! You got me on the edge of my seat.Thanks for sharing.

Wow, this was really awesome, I felt like I was gonna cry, it felt so real, even in all my years of reading and writing fiction, never have I seen something so touching.
I guess my second chance just started now

Wow, this was really awesome, I felt like I was gonna cry, it felt so real, even in all my years of reading and writing fiction, never have I seen something so touching.
I guess my second chance just started now

Ohhh wow
Am blushing
Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59934.86
ETH 2666.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45